Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2014, 05:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
dezi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Dogbone question

I know i am off a little on subject here,but i have a question that is kind of opposite.I have a 30 amp unit and i am wondering if there would be an advantage to use dog bone,and hook up to 50 amp using electric heater?
__________________

__________________
dezi is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-01-2014, 06:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezi View Post
I know i am off a little on subject here,but i have a question that is kind of opposite.I have a 30 amp unit and i am wondering if there would be an advantage to use dog bone,and hook up to 50 amp using electric heater?
Your RV is only 30 amps, you can't use more than that. If you use a separate cord from the pedestal to your interior for an electric heater, that will work.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
dezi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
30vs50 amp

Thank you for the excellent ideas to make things safer,if i run an extension cord to electric heater,run it threw door or window or install outside hook up like Verdana said.Is there any other way of running cord with out going threw window or door?
Thank you Mike
__________________
dezi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezi View Post
Thank you for the excellent ideas to make things safer,if i run an extension cord to electric heater,run it threw door or window or install outside hook up like Verdana said.Is there any other way of running cord with out going threw window or door?
Thank you Mike
Maybe make a penetration from a storage bay or other compartment, run a cord or install an outlet and wiring to where the heater sits.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,515
The two breakers on a 50 amp RV circuit are 50 amps each so, in theory you COULD draw more amps BUT the breakers in your 30 amp RV would keep it from happening.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
There could be a reason to use the 50 amp plug (with the appropriate adapter). A lot of 30 amp outlets are worn out because they get much more use. Using a worn out receptacle could melt your plug.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 01:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
The two breakers on a 50 amp RV circuit are 50 amps each so, in theory you COULD draw more amps BUT the breakers in your 30 amp RV would keep it from happening.
This arguement has been made a lot of time. You are partially correct. The 30 amp breakers would protect the coach. However the 30 amp cord which is connected to the coach would not have anything protecting it. The breaker will supply 50+ amps before tripping. The cord will only take 30 amps before it is getting in the hot mode. I do not recommend anyone doing this
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
With a 30 amp RV the major advantages of using a dogbone to the 50 amp outlet are as follows:
1: In many parks the 30 amp outlet is well worn, the 50 not so much, so you get a better connection.
2: The breaker may be older and anemic, now if it's lost say 20% of it's capacity, your 30 amp breaker is tripping at what, 18 amps. The 50 (if it's lost 20 percent) is now a 30.

A suggestion: There is a cord, I believe Camco sells it, has a 50 amp plug and TWO 30 amp outlets... You plug the rig into one side, and plug a 15-30 amp PUCK adapter (one piece, not a dog bone) into the other, then run a 12 ga cord in via any possible gap (IE: Slideout) to run that heater. Doing it this way you basically ignore the heater.

Also, if like me you have a plug in converter.. It can be fed off that same leg,, So there is another couple to 10 amps off the 30 amp side.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 09:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 931
If you try to run the heater off an internal (inside the coach) and they are all wired through your inverter you may fry your inverter. That little mistake cost me a new inverter.
__________________
pumper9x9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
Best options are
1: Snake a 12 ga extension cord into the RV from outside, You can often do this easily if you have a slide out and it's half way in/out.

Plug it into the park's 20 amp outlet and plug heater into it

2: Use a 30/30-50 cord (I think camco makes one) this is a 50 amp plug with two 30 amp outlets "Y" connected, plug RV into one, plug a 15-30 adpater into the other as above or...

Make a 2nd pigtail 30 amp to multiple 15/20 amp via breakers. and plug that into the other leg, and run 2 12 ga cords to 2 space heaters. (My personal choice if I can do it)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 01:47 PM   #11
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,306
"dezi"......on my previous coach, a 2005 Monaco Diplomat with 50 amp service, I added an extra power cord. Obviously, with 50 amps I had plenty of power, but at 30 amp campgrounds, in cold weather, I wanted more power to run electric heaters. On a large motor home, such as my Diplomat, 30 amps really limits what you can do and using an electric heater makes it worse.

Here's what I did. I ran Romex through flexible plastic conduit to the living area and bathroom. I used this Romex to add an outlet in the bathroom and one in the living area. The Romex was stubbed back to my power bay where I connected it to a three prong 20 amp power cord.

This cord allowed me to connect to the 15/20 amp plug in the shore power box. Now my 30 amps were free to operate the coach and the 15/20 amp cord ran the electric heater. My wife also knew that when we only had 30 amps, she would plug her hair dryer into the added bathroom outlet.

I also agree with "pump9x9" and you should never run electric heaters off of outlets that are connected to an inverter. It's hard on the inverter, even though the inverter is in pass thru mode.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12VDC Battery Monitor question Ed_G Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 05-22-2014 08:16 AM
Question for the Forum Extremerving iRV2.com General Discussion 11 01-15-2014 07:31 AM
Newbie Question About Power Inverters and Electrical exploring RV Systems & Appliances 11 01-05-2014 04:18 PM
Bounder: Question on New MH BarryN514 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 26 11-07-2013 08:34 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.