Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 06-24-2011, 07:26 AM   #1
Dual Tire Pressure Variation

Ok... I know that this topic has been touched before in various different ways and I apologize for bringing back up an old topic. I currently have a Berkshire on which I installed a set of Cat's Eyes (dual pressure equalization system) primarily due to the fact that it was impossible to get one of my TPMS caps on the one of the tires. Not to mention the fact that it was a lot easier to adjust the pressure. I am an engineer so I bought into the theory that having the same pressure in both tires would be a good thing. Now I have ordered a new coach that just so happens has plenty of room for a TPMS cap on each of the tires. I am struggling with the decision as to whether or not install a similar system (Cat's eye or Crossfire) on my new coach. The only reason to now would purely be for the equalization aspect.

I would like to hear from those of you that actually have monitors on each of your duals and share with me what level of variation you have actually seen between the inner an outer tires. Supposedly it is ideal that all 4 of your tires have exactly the same pressure (within maybe 5%) but does this logic flow onto your tag? What happens if I run my tag at a different pressure than the drive? Sure it is not on the same axle but it is right there directly behind the drive. One would think that it would be equally important for it to run at the same pressure as well. Those of you that have monitors AND a tag, what do you see from cold to warm pressure variations on your inner and outer duals as well as your tag?