Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2016, 09:26 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
O.K., I have no doubt you hooked up the wires as described, BUT how do you switch between A/C and Heat pump? Also, when you say the A/C and heat are on at the same time, you aren't talking about the furnace heat, are you?

The A/C can't be both in cool and heat mode at the same time. If the A/C is on cooling, the heat must be from an electric 'emergency' heat grid in the A/C duct.

How did you turn on the electric heat grid in the previous set up?
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-20-2016, 11:28 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4,072
Did you program the Honeywell

Function 2....Heat Pump

???????
__________________

__________________
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 09:10 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
first of all I want to say thanks for helping me and being so patient. When I say the heat comes on its from the floor like a furnace. the ac is on roof . I programed the Honeywell to function 2-1 but I don't know if I did it right? please help me, thanks
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 10:15 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
So, no heat pump and the heat is coming from the floor vents. The floor vents are connected to your 12 v LP gas furnace. The A/C is controlled by the thermostat but is 120 v. If the A/C and heat are on at the same time, and you've verified the wiring and color of wires, I think you'll need to contact Honeywell. Perhaps the thermostat is faulty, or maybe you have a wire that's touching two posts at the hook up points.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 12:01 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
how about installing old thermostat and if I got same problem then it is Honeywell??????? could it be the function maybe I set up Honeywell wrong
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 01:22 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
I just got home and took some pictures
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 01:29 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
here are the pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160416_152030.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	125004   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105344.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	125005  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105417.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	125006   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105606.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	202.1 KB
ID:	125008  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105623.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	216.1 KB
ID:	125009   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105632.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	219.2 KB
ID:	125010  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160423_105659.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	228.2 KB
ID:	125011  
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 01:31 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
The red wire is capped off with yellow wire nut.
The blue and yellow(one with red clip)wires are for the Hi switch for ac
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 01:36 PM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
I set up honeywell thermostat to function 1, setting 1
Maybe this is the problem, wrong set up
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 09:00 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Just want to say thanks to this forum and especially to the 3 people that help me with this problem. Thanks

I figured out with this Honeywell thermostat RTH5100B

you have to turn to page 12 of the quick installation guide book(i posted a picture of it above). I was having problems with the fan not shutting off and the AC not turning on. I talked with bFlinn 181, old-biscuit and Ronninflorida that really helped. The problem was the set up pg 13. In order for the AC to come on the function must be set to 1 and the setting to 0. Since the thermostat is for a house you must wait about 5 minuets for the AC to come on. During this waiting time the "cool on" should be blinking this is a safety feature so it doesn't mess up the compressor. After the AC comes on the blinking will stop after that you wont have to wait the 5 minuets only during the first time. Another thing that will help is don't buy the smallest micro switch you will be fighting with it the entire time. get a regular micro switch with the 2 prongs at radio shack and the 2 female 1/4" insulated connectors(in picture above with yellow wire connected to it) for the HI/Lo switch(the switch would have 2 prongs on it,picture above, 1 prong of switch goes to blue wire and other side of switch prong goes to the yellow wire, capping off the red wire).

Thanks again everyone
__________________
shift10gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 09:31 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
Glad to hear it's working for you. Now write down the proper settings so you don't have to go through it all again when you change the battery in the thermostat!
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cummins ISB 340 Engine Overheating Overheat Fan Clutch Thermostat Cooling etc. f14av8r Cummins Engines 103 08-31-2017 08:42 AM
2014 Dometic Duo Therm AC Quits RV8 RV Systems & Appliances 0 06-22-2014 09:51 PM
Duo-therm Analog thermostat fmbigbass RV Systems & Appliances 4 03-06-2014 09:54 PM
duo therm 76000 series furnace problem tboney RV Systems & Appliances 1 12-01-2013 03:41 PM
thermostat problem '13 Itasca 35P thistlesmith Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 06-01-2013 04:39 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.