Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
Registered User
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lake George, Mi
Posts: 385
Duo Therm System

Recently bought a '99 Class A with 2 ACs (ducted). The Duo Therm thermostat has been upgraded to the newer 5 button model a year or two ago and all worked well. After sitting for a month, neither ACs or fans will work, it also is not seeing the furnace. I've reset the thermostat to "scan" the system and now it only shows "EE".... no ACs, no furnace.

I've checked the DIP switches on the ACs and plugged/unplugged all the data cables I could find (thermostat and both ACs). I've been unable to locate or identify any data cable going to the furnace....any ideas?

I'm thinking my next step is to get a known good data cable and jump each segment to check it. I understand these data cables have the same number of wires and the same jacks as a phone line, but are wired differently. Anyone know how these can be cross wired to work or where to find new data cables?

Am I on the right track or should I be doing something different?
__________________

__________________
jlyon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-17-2011, 04:05 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Lets review your reseting of the thermostats. You had AC power applied to the MH, you turned the power switch off on the bottom of the thermostat and you then held BOTH the MODE and the ZONE buttons in at the same time while turning the switch on the bottom back on then counted to two and released the two buttons?
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:57 PM   #3
Registered User
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lake George, Mi
Posts: 385
Correct. While holding for 2-3 seconds FF was displayed. When released, EE was displayed.
__________________
jlyon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:42 AM   #4
Registered User
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lake George, Mi
Posts: 385
Problem still isn't fixed but, I found this Bulletin from Dometic which should assist greatly in resolving the problem. Is there a better place to post this (I'm new here) to better help others with similar problems?

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc5.pdf
__________________
jlyon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 04:10 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlyon69 View Post
Problem still isn't fixed but, I found this Bulletin from Dometic which should assist greatly in resolving the problem. Is there a better place to post this (I'm new here) to better help others with similar problems?

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc5.pdf
I have uploaded a pdf file of the Duotherm service manual in our "Files" forum. At the top of each forum page is the page path box. Under it is a box, (on my screen it is blue) with a list of website areas. Click on the "Files" and you will get a list of sections you can choose for different files.
If you are getting the EE error code, this mean there is a data communication problem. Check the back of the thermostat and all data cable connections of both air conditioner units. If you still have a problem then replacement of the connector on the data cable would be the next step. These connectors and tool to install can be purchased at home improvement stores, electronic part stores or online. Pay attention to the color of wires in relationship to the connector and install the new one to match. Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo Therm 4 botton to heat pump controller Pwmcx95 RV Systems & Appliances 3 03-20-2011 06:50 PM
SMI Duo system caymann Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 03-10-2011 06:35 AM
Problem with KVH R5SL Satellite System vito.a Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-06-2010 12:40 PM
Duo Therm Furnace Dave&Jeannie Vintage RV's 2 07-31-2007 01:10 PM
Voyager color backup camera system installed!! SargeW Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 08-01-2006 08:41 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.