Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2013, 03:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Pilgrimfarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 94
Duotherm replacement?

We have three 620215.421 units on our coach. Two are not working. I'm thinking I should just replace them as they are 18 years old and the covers are wrecked on them. I don't want to install new covers and spend a bunch of time and money on this age of components.

Anyone done this? Can I just buy new units and install? I don't have a dealer anywhere close so would like to order what I need and do the replacement here. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
1996 Monaco Signature 45
Cummins N14 - 500hp
Pilgrimfarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2013, 04:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,159
I didn't replace the same unit as yours, but I did upgrade the original Dometic Duo-Therm Penguin to Penguin IIs.

You unit may not have a direct replacement, but you should contact Dometic first.
__________________

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095
2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
RVSeniorMoments.com
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 04:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hogdriver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wintering-Orange Beach AL
Posts: 2,915
Duo dilemma

I have had three RVs including my newest one with DuoTherms. I was looking at repairing one on my previous RV and one of the dealers said it wasn't economical to repair them because they are nearly disposable so I understand your thinking about replacement. One thing you might investigate is my newest RV manufacturer, Entegra, has switched their vendor to Coleman units because they are evidently quieter. You might want to shop Coleman vs DuoTherms.
__________________
Dave & Debbie
2014 Anthem 44B
2012 Jeep Rubicon toad
2016 Ford Edge toad
hogdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Pilgrimfarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 94
Re: Coleman or others. Yes, I should've stated that. I don't really care the name as long as I get a decent unit and it switches with the old ones easily.
__________________
1996 Monaco Signature 45
Cummins N14 - 500hp
Pilgrimfarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ernie Ekberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Weatherford, Tx 76086 USA
Posts: 1,498
Send a message via AIM to Ernie Ekberg Send a message via Yahoo to Ernie Ekberg
I believe you will need to upgrade your thermostats, also
__________________
Ernie Ekberg, Prevost Liberty XL Classic
Ernie Ekberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
It depends. Just contact DuoTherm and ask if they have replacements that will work with your control boxes and thermostats.

If not, then you're looking at upgrading the thermostat. The thermostat and controller must match.

At about $600 with no way to charge them, they are pretty much throw away... If you're replacing with units that are compatible with your existing controls, then the hard part is getting them up on the RV. They're held in by 4 long bolts.
__________________
cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:45 AM   #7
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,281
PPL Motors Parts Dept can be very helpful with information on the DuoTherms and which ones will work with your current equipment.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:43 AM   #8
Member
 
Pilgrimfarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 94
I contacted Dometic with all the numbers and they sent me the replacement model numbers. I need adapter cables to ultilize the wiring in my walls now and a new thermostat. Expensive, but cheaper than I had expected.
__________________
1996 Monaco Signature 45
Cummins N14 - 500hp
Pilgrimfarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:40 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilgrimfarms View Post
I contacted Dometic with all the numbers and they sent me the replacement model numbers. I need adapter cables to ultilize the wiring in my walls now and a new thermostat. Expensive, but cheaper than I had expected.
Is it one of these -- Dometic Comfort Air Thermostat
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095
2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
RVSeniorMoments.com
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 11:12 AM   #10
Member
 
Pilgrimfarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
Is it one of these -- Dometic Comfort Air Thermostat
Yes, that's the one they say I need.
__________________
1996 Monaco Signature 45
Cummins N14 - 500hp
Pilgrimfarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 11:25 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
I'm upgrading a HRMH that has two Penguin heat pump/ACs. One unit just has no more cold. She also has the old CCC 4button.
On hers, I'm upgrading the t-stat to the CCC 5 button. Upgrading the good unit's cntrl box to the one that will work with the CCC5. On the new unit, you have to get the cntrl board that works with the NEW CCC rectangle, and then get a conversion kit to make it work with the old CCC5.
Make sense? Old can only be upgraded so much, and new has to be down graded so it all meshes.
If two don't work, I'd just replace the third, put on the new CCCrectangle, and be done.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:19 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,159
CCC II

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilgrimfarms View Post
Yes, that's the one they say I need.
When I upgraded both my ACs to Penguin IIs, this new thermostat had to be used. It's the best RV thermostat I've used. The CCC II is more like a house unit that the old 4- or 5-button ones.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095
2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
RVSeniorMoments.com
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:36 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Just for technical clarification, there are three different Comfort Control Systems.

4 Button CCC
5 Button CCC
12 Button CCC-II

They are not interchangeable.

For each master button control, the power control boards located within the A/C unit on the roof needs to match the CCC.


Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:48 AM   #14
Member
 
Pilgrimfarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 94
One further question: I removed the old units and see that there is a small "box" where the air goes to the ducting within the larger standard square opening. Am I correct to assume the new units are standardized and will just drop in and fit the ducting connections, too? I know the outer dimension is standard, and I've got the adapter/wiring harness/thermostat conversion accounted for. Just want to be sure the ducting connection will fit without major mods, too.????

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
1996 Monaco Signature 45
Cummins N14 - 500hp
Pilgrimfarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.