Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2012, 11:22 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Rook's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FT for 6 years, NW in the summer, S in winter.
Posts: 1,092
ECM Functions

My Fast Idle does not work. Is this a function that can be "enabled" and "disabled" through the ECM via an engine Tech's computer? Rook
__________________

__________________
When you get a chance to dance, or sit this one out......I hope you DANCE!

98 National Tradewinds 7370, powered by a 3126B 300HP CAT Turbo, Freightliner XC chassis
Rook is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-09-2012, 07:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
BeltoneMagoo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 400
Don't know about your rig but on the one I bought last year (used) mine didn't work either. I read the owners manual and it said the cruise control should set the idle speed. Wrong! After further reading (again and again) and looking around I found a switch on the dash that said idle. Can you imagine that? It worked too! Hope you have good luck finding out where and how. Maybe just a fuse hopefully.
Good luck and safe travels!
__________________

__________________
Doug & Connie
2001 Holiday Rambler Imperial 41ft PBD 370hp ISL AF1 braking system
2001 Subaru Forester manual toad
BeltoneMagoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:57 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Suggest that you call Freightliner Custom Chassis (have the last 6 digits of your VIN handy) and ask how fast idle is controlled on your rig. They have 24/7 tech support.

1-800-FTL-HELP (1-800-385-4357)
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 10:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dacotah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 152
Cruise and high idle problem

As Gary mentioned, contact Freightliner direct and they will e-mail you the test procedure for the cruise system.The system has two parts; the "stick" on the steering column, and a module that hangs down behind the steering column which connects to the ECM. The procedure is different for Cummins and Cat engines. If the problem is not a loose ground or the brake switch, you will need to have someone hook up a computer to the ECM to find the problem. Hope this helps. DACOTAH
__________________
Full time since March 2012!!
Dacotah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rook's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FT for 6 years, NW in the summer, S in winter.
Posts: 1,092
Just talked to Freightliner and as I suspected...."fast Idle" is a programmed feature. It can be "enabled" or "disabled" on the ECM. I will have to go to a Cat engine place or a Freightliner place that has the CAT software to see what state mine is in. I'm betting that it's turned off. Freightliner said that sometimes when the ECM firmware is upgraded the Fast Idle will revert to the "disabled" mode, which is the "default" position. Thanks for all the comments. Rook
__________________
When you get a chance to dance, or sit this one out......I hope you DANCE!

98 National Tradewinds 7370, powered by a 3126B 300HP CAT Turbo, Freightliner XC chassis
Rook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.