Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2015, 09:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Gdgb23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Electric hook ups

Currently traveling to Ny for holidays. At my dads property he has an old mobile home electrical hook up. It's the same plug as a 50amp. But it's got 100amps going to it. Is it safe to plug into or should we have an electrician add a 50amp breaker to the box, then plug in?

Thank you


2015 Fleetwood Excursion 35b
Towing 2013 Jeep Rubicon
__________________

__________________
Gdgb23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-23-2015, 09:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
If the power post will not be used again for a mobile home , and you're going to be there regularly, best would be to have the breakers and plug changed, actual shape of the ground terminal may be slightly different.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 11:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
NMRVer's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 281
Theirs only 2 hot wires for 50 amp service, check the plug for hot leads. If you have a meter, double check before plugging in.
__________________
Ford RV V10 5 star Tow tune
Front/Read Roadmaster 1 3/4" anti-sway bars. Roadmaster steering stabilizer
2009 Acme Tow dolly w/ 2014 Avalon Hybrid Limited
NMRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 12:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Gdgb23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Thanks guys,

Just talked to my dad. He says there is a 100amp fuse at main breaker at the main property "hub" and 2 50amp breakers at the Rv/mobile home plug. Plug is same as 50amp Rv plug. It appears the mobile home (from the 1960s) was a 50amp home. Still having an electrician come out and check it out.


2015 Fleetwood Excursion 35b
Towing 2013 Jeep Rubicon
__________________
Gdgb23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 12:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
inlineskater's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2014
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 357
I would check with an electrician.
__________________
inlineskater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 12:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,659
Electricians usually don't know much about RVs. It can be called a specialization. I'd call a mobile RV tech with electrical experience before I'd call an electrician.
__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 01:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,648
As long as the plug is properly configured for your coach you should not have a problem. If you are not 100% certain and/or do not feel comfortable checking then by all means have an Electrician who is familar with RV power configurations and requirements check the outlet out before you plug in.

Also are you sure about the 100 amp figure? The hot wire feeds to the outlet need to be a bit larger than 1/4" in diamter of copper for that current rating. 50 amp is around 1/8" in general terms.
__________________
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 03:53 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
The fuses or breakers at the outlet or the feed for it don't have anything to do with the power to the RV anyway, except as a max limit. Your RV is protected by its own breakers, which presumably is a standard 50A (4-prong) shore power plug? The only pertinent concern is whether that outlet matches the pin configuration of your RV plug. both physically and electrically. There should be two hot wires, with a reading of 220-240v between the two hots and 110-120v between each hot and the neutral. Also 120v between hots and the ground.

This document shows the layout:
http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

Assuming the original outlet was adequate for a mobile home, whether 50A or 100A, and the voltages are as described, you should have no problem plugging into it.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 05:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ladagobago's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DW Driver -Winter Englewood FL, Summer Willingboro NJ
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 11
My guess and it is a guess only of course is that the home has a 100 Amp main breaker and then a 50 amp dual breaker for this outlet. That is all I have too. 100 amp service and we use the 50 amp breaker from the electric stove after we put a gas stove in the kitchen.
most important too purchase a cheap voltmeter and learn how to check any outlet before plugging in. review the sheet that Gary shows about the plug configurations and location of the hot leads. measure across the two outer pins (X&Y)should be 220 V and to ground or 110 V. (X&Y black or red wires are HOT and G&W White or bare wire is GROUND.
__________________
La Dagobago
99 36 FL Winne Chieftain 5.9 ISB Turbo Cummins DP, 24' box with 1972 V12 XKE Jag and HD Sporty Hobby of 1970's Suzuki dirt bike restoration. Visit my blog.
ladagobago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 05:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMRVer View Post
Theirs only 2 hot wires for 50 amp service, check the plug for hot leads. If you have a meter, double check before plugging in.
How many hot leads do you think there might be? 50 amp, 100 amp, 200 amp, still typically 2 hots. Not very likely you would find 3 phase at a residence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdgb23 View Post
Thanks guys,

Just talked to my dad. He says there is a 100amp fuse at main breaker at the main property "hub" and 2 50amp breakers at the Rv/mobile home plug. Plug is same as 50amp Rv plug. It appears the mobile home (from the 1960s) was a 50amp home. Still having an electrician come out and check it out.


2015 Fleetwood Excursion 35b
Towing 2013 Jeep Rubicon
Sounds like they used the single 100 amp 120v feed to feed 2 50 amp circuits. That's fine as long as your RV doesn't have any actual 240v loads.

Most likely it doesn't, AC units, outlets, etc. are all 120v. About the only possibility for a 240v load would be a clothes dryer.
__________________
70ChevelleSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 06:17 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70ChevelleSS View Post
How many hot leads do you think there might be? 50 amp, 100 amp, 200 amp, still typically 2 hots. Not very likely you would find 3 phase at a residence.


Sounds like they used the single 100 amp 120v feed to feed 2 50 amp circuits. That's fine as long as your RV doesn't have any actual 240v loads.

Most likely it doesn't, AC units, outlets, etc. are all 120v. About the only possibility for a 240v load would be a clothes dryer.
Yep, that would let us out as our dryer is a 240 unit! Many years ago I put in a 30 amp setup for our TT and put it way at the back of the pad. Now, the rigs are 50 amp and I need the plug moved forward so I don't need to run 50' of 30 amp cord. Going to have to hire an electrician to run the new cord and modify the house panel if I upgrade to a full 50 amp. I need the full 50 amp RV setup to run both 2000 watt elements in the AquaHot during the winter or burn a lot of diesel.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 06:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 608
Here is the correct outlet checkClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1448325709.812894.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	112661


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
__________________
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 07:51 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
If it is the same plug. Run the tests in the post above.

Then yes, it should be safe.. The danger is you have a 50 amp cord protected by a 100 amp breaker, but you have 50 amp breakers inside the coach.. The odds of a partial short overloading your 50 amp cord but NOT tripping either the 100 amp external or 50 amp internal breaker approach zero as we say in math class.

In fact the approach is very close Like 1 in several million. so long as you do not need an extension cord.

I would use a proper surge guard but then you should always do that anyway.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 04:29 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
franktr's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: League City Texas soon to be Austin
Posts: 198
Recepital

Are all of the plugs the same? Will this be the correct outlet

GE 50-Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U054P - The Home Depot
__________________

__________________
franktr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric heat J Stemler Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 09-28-2014 11:57 PM
Electric Heaters? KarenS144 iRV2.com General Discussion 32 08-16-2014 01:47 PM
1994 Southwind electric system ShelleyFunny Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 05-27-2014 08:30 AM
Induction Cooktop v. Electric Cooktop Deek Newmar Owner's Forum 23 04-13-2014 12:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.