Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 45
electric trailer brake control on class A

Any body out there install an electric brake control on a MH? (2009 HOLIDAY Endeavour 41 pdq.) Was thinking the Prodigy 2 control. Dealer says have to run wires all the way back. Caoch has 7 way bargemnet plug on back by hitch. Iv installed controls on my pickup trucks without extra wires y would ya have to on a MH when they (the manufactures) would assume ya might be pulling somthing needing electric brakes? (have a 7x14 cargo trailer for motorcylces and looking for a tandom tow dolly to purchace if any one out there knows of one) Does any one no how to get a wire schematic for a coach? On my trucks wires were under dash all labeled for a brake control witch wires atachted to witch wire from truck to brake controll Thanks for all help if any in advance.
__________________

__________________
gramps66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-02-2013, 06:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
fastcat's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 460
My 07 Endeavor came prewired for the brake controller from Monaco. I'm pretty sure all Endeavors from about 05 on have the wiring. The wires were run from the front all the way back and into the socket.

The plug on the front end of the wires was under the "console" to the left of the steering wheel. At the bottom there's a removable cover about in the area of your left foot, and that's where I found mine.

I called Monaco Tech Support first and they had me take the entire dash out, saying it should be behind the speedometer. Wrong!!

The wires in the front were all white so there's no color coding to help out. I cut the plug off the end and hard wired the controller because nothing was available to make it a plug in setup.

The wires at the back where they go into the socket were the correct color.
__________________

__________________
fastcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,718
I did not have the wires I needed from front to rear so in looking around I ran into this wireless brake controller Tekonsha Prodigy RF Wireless Trailer Brake Controller - 1 to 3 Axles - Proportional Tekonsha Brake Controller 90250
It was easy to install and it really works great! If you look around the internet you might be able to find a better deal......
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
cjkroodsma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 103
Thumbs up Prodigy Wireless works for me

I too decided to use the Prodigy Wireless unit on my 2006 HR Scepter. Only had to mount the "box" on the trailer tongue and onnect the cords. When I trade or sell my trailer (28' V-nose, 10,000 lb. rated) I just remove the unit and move to the next or sell it. Dealer wanted $300 to get me on the road and I had to bring my MH to him. I did the install in my own drive and have been happy since. Let us know what you wind up doing.
__________________
cjkroodsma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Alan17's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philomath, Oregon
Posts: 70
If you have one wired in or do it yourself I would highly recommend the Tekonsha P3. ($135) We love ours. Proportional break controllers are no comparison to the older braking units.

If your MH is not factory wired you should only need to run 1 new wire from the unit to the back and that would be for the actual brake power. The rest of the wires can be accessed under the dash.
__________________
5 RV's and counting (1 TT, 1 Camper, 2 Class C's and on our first Class A) Loved every one of them.
Benton County Search & Rescue (ARES Unit) - K7AES
Alan17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,085
My 2012 Monaco was prewired. The wires were to the left of the steering column and clearly marked. They may be hard to spot if all the wires are the same color like mine are. On my coach the job was easy as the top of the dash is easily removable.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer
Dennis_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 45
thanks for the input i will look into the wireless unit. just purchaced coach. so im trying to figure out should i just let the dealer do it or wait till i get it home? with the wire less one ya still have to hook somewires up dont ya?
__________________
gramps66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by gramps66 View Post
with the wire less one ya still have to hook somewires up dont ya?
No , it is plugs into your cig. lighter in the Coachs dash and then a quick calabration to link it to the system that is on the trailer, thats it.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:55 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Randy125's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 316
I installed the Prodigy2 on my Mh , i had wires running to the back, I would bet with the year of your mh you will have a wire running to the back.
__________________

__________________
2002 KSDP 3669/Freightliner XC CHASSIS/Cummins 5.9 ISB 300hp
Joplin, MO
Randy125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.