Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2014, 05:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ZOOKER's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
KZ RV Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Posts: 144
Electrical issue

I am having a problem with my 2004 monaco lapalma. When I am plugged into shore or with generator running I have 5 of my neighbors who can not use their garage remotes. Hard wired buttons work. If I turn off the breaker to the front ac and the microwave the remotes work? Mine included. I called monaco and they thought it was my inverter? I don't have an inverter. They had no other suggestions? Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
ZOOKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2014, 06:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ZOOKER's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
KZ RV Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Posts: 144
Electrical gremlins

I have a 2004 monaco lapalma. I have issues and so far I don't think anyone can relate. When plugged into shore or with the generator running 5 of my neighbors and myself can't use the remotes for the garage doors. Only the hard wired buttons work? If I turn the breakers for the microwave and the front ac the remotes will work. Tried calling monaco and they thought maybe inverter? Well don't have one. They had no other thoughts and surely think I am nuts as all others I have contacted. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
ZOOKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 06:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,791
Can you isolate it to just the microwave causing the interference, by unplugging just it and nothing else? Microwaves are an RF radiator and can be a source of radio interference.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 06:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,965
I'd check the power to the receiver for the remotes. Base that on it seems you are on AC it does not work but when on Batt power it does. I don't know enough about the system to say more but anyone who trouble shoots it will learn the primary power path. ;-)
__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 07:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ZOOKER's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
KZ RV Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Posts: 144
i have unplugged the microwave and no change. still need to have 2 breakers turned off (micro & front ac)to open my garage with remote opener or wireless keypad? from my calls and talks guess it's never happened to anyone before? guess they think i am nuts..open to any and all suggestions. thank you for the responses.
__________________
ZOOKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 08:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZOOKER View Post
I am having a problem with my 2004 monaco lapalma. When I am plugged into shore or with generator running I have 5 of my neighbors who can not use their garage remotes. Hard wired buttons work. If I turn off the breaker to the front ac and the microwave the remotes work? Mine included. I called monaco and they thought it was my inverter? I don't have an inverter. They had no other suggestions? Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Is it possible that you have some Thinlight fluorescent lights? These light are a known source of electronic interference. Just thought that you might have turned lights on or off also. Thinlite knows about this issue & might be able to help.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:07 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,753
x2 with what Steve said. Lights have also effected slide controls, fridge and Micro.
The defective ballast sends out a radio frequency.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
Is it possible that you have some Thinlight fluorescent lights? These light are a known source of electronic interference. Just thought that you might have turned lights on or off also. Thinlite knows about this issue & might be able to help.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
Steve I am going to assume that his thinlight florescent lights are 12 volts. If he is turning off AC breakers that would not affect the fluorescent lights.

To the OP if you do not turn off your AC breaker have you tried unplugging your microwave and see if that makes a change. IF you unplug your microwave and that does not fix it then you need to see what the front AC breaker feeds. If it is your microwave that needs to be fixed pretty soon. For that many remotes not to work at that distance you have something that is broadcasting a fairly large rf signal at that frequency. I am not too worried about absorbing enough RF energy to be an issue although it is a concern. I am worried about anyone with a pace maker being near that much leakage.

Let us know what you find. Since yours is not working this should be fairly simple. Just turn off or unplug anything that is fed by that breaker until the problem stops
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini5362 View Post
Steve I am going to assume that his thinlight florescent lights are 12 volts. If he is turning off AC breakers that would not affect the fluorescent lights.

To the OP if you do not turn off your AC breaker have you tried unplugging your microwave and see if that makes a change. IF you unplug your microwave and that does not fix it then you need to see what the front AC breaker feeds. If it is your microwave that needs to be fixed pretty soon. For that many remotes not to work at that distance you have something that is broadcasting a fairly large rf signal at that frequency. I am not too worried about absorbing enough RF energy to be an issue although it is a concern. I am worried about anyone with a pace maker being near that much leakage.

Let us know what you find. Since yours is not working this should be fairly simple. Just turn off or unplug anything that is fed by that breaker until the problem stops

I agree. I just thought he might have turned the lights off also but did not associate that with the problem.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NAS Pensacola, FL
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZOOKER View Post
i have unplugged the microwave and no change. still need to have 2 breakers turned off (micro & front ac)to open my garage with remote opener or wireless keypad? from my calls and talks guess it's never happened to anyone before? guess they think i am nuts..open to any and all suggestions. thank you for the responses.
There is still some source of RF being generated by those circuits. Carefully check what other electronics are being powered by those circuits, e.g., TVs, radios, power convertors, battery chargers, computer power supply. Most electronics have RF filters on there power supplies. If the RF filter fails, the RF signal will stray. The RF may backfeed down the SP line and be transmitted on the house power circuit. Are all your neighbor on the same pole power transformer? Since you don't have an inverter, you may want to try this. When on SP, ensure you still can not operate the garage door remotely with the circuits energized. THEN start your generator and see if you can still not operate the garage door remotely. If you can operate it, then you know the RF is backfeeding through the power lines. If you can't operate it, you'll need to find the defective RF filter. JM2...
__________________
Ted Fulltiming in the DreamCatcher a
2008 Challenger 371PE on F53 w/ 2010 Cobalt
R'V there yet?
teddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:53 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,206
Since the openers transmit a set of codes to the door control head, they are apparently susceptible to radio interference.

The appliances are causing radio interference which prevents the remotes from transmitting the codes to operate the doors. Discussed here. https://answers.yahoo.com/question/i...6234405AA0fQnT

This article says you may be able to track the interference with a portable am radio.. http://rfiservices.com/tips.htm
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel
Our Pug "Lily" & "George" the Newfoundland
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 11:10 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ZOOKER's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
KZ RV Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Posts: 144
i have unplugged the mirco and it made no change. all the electronics up front are unplugged. will check the frig tomorrow there is nothing else plugged in as for the inside. there is a battery charger in the back that i unplugged before but will try again tomorrow. thank you for your thoughts and responses!
__________________
ZOOKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 03:24 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
ZOOKER's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
KZ RV Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Posts: 144
Anybody following my post know if the "ems board" could be the problem? Thank you again.
__________________
ZOOKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:13 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
Some thoughts. Both the front A/C and the Microwave are 120 volt devices, The lights in the RV are, for the most part 12 volt devices, and would not be affected by turning off the circuit breaker to the A/C and Microwave.. Now,

The Microwave and A/C should be on DIFFERENT breakers, not the same one...

Also there is a converter, some of them are very noisy

And the Fridge controller (At least one make) is a known RFI (Radio Freuency Interference) source.

A AM/FM hand held radio or a hand held short wave receiver may help to track down some RFI sources, but alas, Most remotes operate on a higher frequency and if what is known as the fundemental frequency is higher than Short Wave, those won't help find it.

I would try to narrow it down more by unplugging microwave.. If that fail contact me via P/M and I will try, I streess TRY to put you in touch with some experts. Wont' happen that fast though.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery or Electrical issue rlastar Class C Motorhome Discussions 2 05-26-2014 11:22 AM
DC Electrical Issue Jchet Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 05-07-2014 09:53 PM
Strange Electrical Issue baldtat MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 01-13-2014 07:44 AM
93 Safari 38' Electrical issue ollison Monaco Owner's Forum 21 12-04-2013 06:10 AM
Electrical Issue Bymorris Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 09-21-2013 06:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.