Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2012, 05:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Electrical Outlets

Have 4 outlets in coach that aren't working. 2 in lounge, two in galley, one of which is GF. Worked on this for 3 days. Had a Camping Connection service call & said, looked like one might have previously gotten wet. No other reason for issue. I previously replaced GF, but re-set button wouldn't work, prior to replacing. Service call put old GF back, charged me $169.00, and 4 days later, back to square one. 4 outlets, not working. GF pops, but CB's aren't affected. Camping connection suggested there might be a small hole on the roof somewhere where rain is getting in. First time w/issue hadn't rained for quite a long time.
__________________

__________________
Bubalu06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-27-2012, 05:49 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
You have a small leakage that is causing the GFI to trip. Trust me, they don't lie. Especially after you replaced it with a new one and it did the same thing. Sometimes they do blow. I had to replace one of my GFI circuit breakers as it would not work anymore.

You may have to hire an electrician to trace down to find the small leakage causing the GFI to trip.

It doesn't appear that Camping Connection would know want to do but a professional electrician should know.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,246
Bubalu:

If the 4 outlets you mention consist of 1 GFCI feeding 3 other standard outlets (Series Wiring), try this.
Disconnect the wires attached to the "LOAD" terminals of the GFCI. If you still have a trip condition, your CFCI is bad.

If the GFCI does not trip with the wires disconnected, you have a current leak somewhere "downstream" of the GFCI. If you disconnect one outlet at a time until the GFCI doesn't trip, you can isolate the problem outlet or wire run.
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rich and Cork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,052
I lost power to the GFI circuit and the others on that circuit. The Alpine group on this site has done a nice job of collecting and indexing a lot of the build data on our coaches, including electrical schematics. I was able to figure out the circuit, but due to routing issues, not the exact cause. I ended up disconnecting that circuit from the breaker and re-routed new wire from the breaker to the GFI outlet.

Good luck.
__________________
2001 34' Alpine Coach
2008 Jeep Rubicon or 2012 Ford F150 4x4 Lariat towds
or a couple of different trailers
Retired in Apple Valley, California
Rich and Cork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
calhyatt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Weston, Fl.
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluepill View Post
Bubalu:

If the 4 outlets you mention consist of 1 GFCI feeding 3 other standard outlets (Series Wiring), try this.
Disconnect the wires attached to the "LOAD" terminals of the GFCI. If you still have a trip condition, your CFCI is bad.

If the GFCI does not trip with the wires disconnected, you have a current leak somewhere "downstream" of the GFCI. If you disconnect one outlet at a time until the GFCI doesn't trip, you can isolate the problem outlet or wire run.
Your are correct in your troubleshooting technique. That is the way to eliminate either a bad outlet or wire run between each outlet. Probably an errant staple finally met its mark..
__________________
2003 Newmar Kountry Star 3905, Freightliner XC chassis with CAT 330. Winnie the black lab, pretty Airbus captain wife, retired airline pilot with 11 grandkids. UH-1 pilot (Huey) U.S. Army 1967-1983. RVN 68-69. Northern Idaho my summer home.
calhyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Does your patio outlet work?

You tell me the GFCI trips soon as you reset it... Now since you mentioned only one of the galley outlets is GFCI I'm guessing the other is down-chain from it, as are the two in the lounge and the patio outlet.

Often the seal on the patio outlet is not all that well sealed, rain gets in and causes exactly what is happening to you now.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:33 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
You said the GFCI won't reset and that's a different condition than it tripping again immediately after a reset. The GFCI won't reset if there is no 120v power to the unit and that means the problem is further upstream.

But if it is tripping immediately every time you reset, then the problem is downstream from the GFCI outlet.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.