Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2017, 06:46 AM   #15
Member
 
RM travelers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Porter, TX
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by powercat_ras View Post
Self contained 120 V electrical outlets and switches are UL approved and are commonly used in RVs and mobile homes. They make 4 electrical connections to each wire, similar to the connection made inside residential "push in" type outlets and switches. They do not require an electrical box. They only require a depth behind wall of 1.5" . Hubbell-Wirecon is one common manufacturer.



At the RV or Manufactured Home factory, the key is to use the self contained outlet / switch manufacturer specified tool to correctly slit the and form the romex, place the romex into the slits in the back and then finally to use the tool to assemble the two halfs of the outlet or switch.



They are not reusable. It is possible but difficult to use one of these in a repair or retrofit without the tool. I have done it once due to the lack of depth where I wanted to add an outlet. I have made the slit and formed the wires manually once, and used needle nose pliers to insert the wires into the insulation displacement connection points, then manually assembled the halfs with water pump pliers. It worked fine. These self contained outlets are available for purchase at RV supply sources and eBay.



If without the tool , if the depth and the length of the romex permits, it is best to replace with a box and conventional outlet.



http://www.hubbell-wirecon.com/liter...on_catalog.pdf


Thanks for the info. I had plenty of room to add plastic box & house type receptacle. Next one I have to replace I might need the RV receptacle if they have left me enough romex.
__________________

__________________
RM travelers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-27-2017, 07:03 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23,454
I have not replaced but I expanded using Residential and 15/20 amnp at that (With 12ga wrapped around screws instead of punch down or poke in a hole) Very happy with result,

THe only Issue is the box depth.. The wall may not be thick enough to mount the box. ONe of mine I needed to trim up around the box
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 07:23 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Lv2Roam2's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Somewhere On the Road
Posts: 652
I've done it with both regular depth and shallow boxes depending on location. Drove screws through the box sidewall to secure. Was lucky that there was enough wire slack to re-do the connections.
__________________
Steve
2015 Itasca Ellipse QD | 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Lv2Roam2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 07:07 AM   #18
Member
 
RM travelers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Porter, TX
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrd48 View Post
I replaced every outlet in my coach with home style outlets. Two had burned and discolored wires from poor connections. I would definitely replace outlets that you have high current devices plugged into.


Tks for the info.
__________________

__________________
RM travelers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dash air wont shift from defrost outlets to dash outlets drrussell Monaco Owner's Forum 3 08-21-2016 03:30 PM
Generator running electrical outlets dmason Monaco Owner's Forum 4 03-01-2010 06:26 PM
Electrical outlets musical chairs powerboatr Damon 1 01-12-2010 06:21 PM
120v Electrical Outlets not working in 03 MDDS rbguinn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 09-11-2008 06:35 PM
Electrical Outlets crudeman Monaco Owner's Forum 4 04-18-2007 08:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.