Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2012, 09:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Popcorn Man's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 214
Electrical Problem

I have an 08 Allegro that has an electrical problem I cannot solve. Need suggestions to correct. The RV is in storage and last week I decided to hook up shore power so to keep house batteries charged. I have power in the coach but the microwave and converter have none. The two wall outlets below the micro work. Checked circuit breakers and they were fine. In fact I shut them off and then on to see if things worked, no luck. Currently ran extension cord direct to converter to keep house batteries charged. Anything else I can do? Last resort would be to get an electrcian to test breakers.
__________________

__________________
2012 Winnebago Journey 40U 2013 Chevy Equinox
Popcorn Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-13-2012, 11:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Is the microwave not working or is there no power at its outlet? Test its outlet.

Do you have a wiring diagram for your rig?

The converter is charging the batteries (you tested this) so it works. That would indicate the problem is between entry of the power to the coach and the converter.

Knowing the path of the electricity flows should identify possible component failures, like fuses, breakers, GFI outlets etc before the converter receives its portion.
__________________

__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:48 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,112
I suspect a GFI outlet is tripped. Check ALL outlets to find the GFIs, then reset them. I'll assume you've already checked all breakers by cycling them all off and back on again.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Popcorn Man's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 214
I checked the microwave outlet, there is no power. I also didn't
know that GFI was in circuit for converter and microwave but I will check them anyway.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Journey 40U 2013 Chevy Equinox
Popcorn Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: western wa.
Posts: 539
check breakers on inverter.
__________________
2007 NRV DOLPHIN LX 6342

WORKHORSE W-22
cannon man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 3,856
Another thought here. You mentioned the inverter does not work right? Your RV is a 50 amp rig, right? Could there be a breaker tripped on the supply post? Are you using a 50 amp to 30 amp to 15 amp adapters on the power cord? My gut says you are not getting power to one half of the supply from the house or garage or storage facility.

Hopes this helps in some way.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, being pushed by a 2014 Honda CRV
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
So, the Converter and Battery charger work, but do not receive shore power via the coach wiring.

You have electricity to some outlets but not the Microwave outlet.

You do not clarify whether you have a combined Inverter/Convert/Charger or solely a converter/charger.

On my rig, the shore power connects to separate circuits for the roof AC units and refrigerator.
For all other outlets, shore power delivery is through the Inverter/Converter/Charger combi unit. This arrangement allows the batteries to power selected outlets including the microwave outlet via the inverter.

My Microwave outlet is on a separate circuit from the rest of the inverter connected AC connections.

Since neither your Converter/Charger or Microwave work on shore power you may have either one or two problems.

1. Take the cover off your breaker panel. Test the Microwave breaker with your voltmeter to see if 120v passes to and through the breaker. Since the outlet does not have power, the breaker should not be passing voltage but could be receiving voltage.

Then maybe swap the Microwave breaker with a similar breaker that does work. (Disconnect from shore power before doing this!) This will test if the breaker is bad.

2. If you have circuit breakers on the "Converter" box as I have on my Inverter box, a tripped breaker there will prevent shore power from entering the Converter. I have three such buttons, one of which disconnects the shore power.

Additionally, I have breakers on my GFI protected circuits that hide in my electric utility bay that trip, but they are mounted after the Inverter not before and should not be your problem.

If you could give the following info others might be able to add some help.

50 Amp Coach?
Manf and Model of your Converter?
Do you have an Inverter?
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Pogo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Florida Cooters Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DeLand, Fl
Posts: 282
If you have a meter, and know how to use it, test for electrical power at the main 50 amp breaker. You might have power on one leg, but not the other, for some reason. For instance, you might have it on the black leg, but not on the red one. That would explain why some things work, but not the others. If so, check back at the source to find the problem.
I have seen this before.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
Pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
check the wiring in the changeover box.
burned or loose wires and bad points cause this with the transfer switch.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Shellback1's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 721
Send a message via AIM to Shellback1
I agree on the GFI.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3274 35' Ford F53 V-10
2006 Ion Retired Navy, FAA and PASS Union VP
Shellback1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:38 PM   #11
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,555
Lot of great ideas and now my 2 cents. Being in storage you probably have a cheater cord to run from a 20 amp outlet. I have seen the cheater cords fail and cause some grief. A quick test would be to open the AC breaker panel and check the specific breakers for the microwave etc. If you have power there, forget the cheater cord and give me my two cents back. Never mind. Keep the change.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:52 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
Since you have partial power, I would first suspect either the power outlet the coach is plugged into and the adapter used to get from your 50A cord to a 15/20A wall outlet. Next suspect would be the wiring at the auto transfer switch in the coach. Last, I would be looking at the circuit breakers for those circuits. This is fairly easy to diagnose if you have a voltmeter and know how to use it, but probably requires a pro if you do not.

Neither the inverter/charger nor the microwave is normally on a GFCI protected circuit, but it's a remote possibility.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:00 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Popcorn Man's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 214
Well I got an electrician out to the rig. I disconnected the cheater cord to the converter, Took the cord and connected it to the rig and all of a sudden everything works. The electrician flipped the breakers off and on and everything still worked. Go figure. He said as long as I will have rig in storage till spring he will look at it then if it goes goofy again. This still has me baffled.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Journey 40U 2013 Chevy Equinox
Popcorn Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:02 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
I had a circuit in my garage that was dead, found out that a nest of stink bugs were in my garage sub panel. They were between the circuit breaker clip and the buss bar.

Don't know if you have them in your area.
__________________

__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.