Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-24-2012, 12:04 PM   #1

Electrical Problems

Please keep in mind, I'm not an electrician, have never played one on TV and didn't spend the night at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

I have a '98 Pace Arrow 32g on a P30 chassis. I recently brought it back from storage and plugged it in to shore power in the drive and everything seemed to be fine.

Later in the same day, it was noticed that the power step was not working and both the chassis and coach batteries were drawn down. Being seven years old, I replaced the chassis battery with an identical replacement and charged the battery up before rehooking the wires. Everything seemed fine until later on when once again the step would not work. I checked the chassis battery and it was 4.7 volts. I also put the meter on the house batteries and they were 5.3 volts.

In trying to locate a reset button, I found the AUTO CHARGING and AUX START RELAY in the engine compartment electrical box to be very hot. The only way I ould get it to cool down was to unplug the shore power.

I'm about like ricochet rabbit when it comes to systemically diagnosing the problem and would welcome any advice or suggestions.
Thanks

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!