Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2015, 04:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Electrical problems

Newbie cannot figure out electrical issue. First time outing plugged in 30 amp at park. Could not get either A/c to work, only couple outlets in front part of unit worked. Have 36' Fleetwood Bounder. control panel breakers all on. Any help greatly appreciated.

Tribune is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-31-2015, 04:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,670
Does you RV have a 50 amp plug?

A 30amp service is 120V.
A 50amp service is 250V (really two 120V circuits with can provide 240V for the AC units.

If you look at your breaker panel, are the AC breakers "ganged" (two breakers for each AC unit).



2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 04:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
Roger G's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Amory, Ms
Posts: 573
Check your 12 v disconnect switch. The AC is 120 v AC but the thermostat is 12 v dc.
Roger And Kim Goodwin
bout them DAWGS!!
Roger G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 04:39 PM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks, 1st timer to RV life, have switch in cabinet above entrance door that is labeled disconnect, is this what you are referring to. I really have extremely limited knowledge, but am trying to ramp us ASAP. Mike
Tribune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 04:42 PM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
We have a 199 Fleetwood Bounder that is 30 amp. Really have limited knowledge as this is our 1st RV. Wife and I are retired and trying to prepare for winter vacation. I have a lot to learn ad trying to ramp up knowledge as fast as possible. Thanks Mike
Tribune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 04:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 183
Is your coach wired for 50A service? and have an Energy Management System?

An EMS monitors the amps available (connected) & will come 'alive' when you have less than 50A service connected. It will then turn off some ac systems (most notably an air conditioner or two) if your amperage demand exceeds what's available.

BTW, a 50A connection is actually two 120vac legs at 50A each... for a total of 100 amps to the coach.

A 30A connection provides a total of 30 amps to the coach, which may not be enough to run everything else plus an air conditioner.
99phantoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 10:53 PM   #7
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 34
If some outlets do not work, you might check the breaker on your inverter. I had this problem once, I had to find the diagram of the inverter to locate the small breaker switch.
Celerator (Joe)
'09 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS
Victoria, BC Canada
Celerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 06:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,173
Suspect list: Assuming you have a 50 amp RV
Park outlet (Is it live.. Been to a park where it was not)
Dogbone adapter
Shore cord
Power inlet (If you have one) and outlet on shore cord (Likewise)
Auto transfer switch (if you got one)
Breaker box
If you have an inverter the breakers on the inverter are NOT suspect, they do not power the Air Conditioer.
Screws loose in breaker box (Many RVers have a few screws loose) also on Power INlet and shore cord outlet.

I once had a shore cord outlet end fall off in my hand.. let me tell you the owner was NOT a happy camper.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 12:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
mccsix's Avatar
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pensacola Fl
Posts: 667
Do you have an EMS on the back br wall. It takes some time for the Intellec EMS to process the power coming in. Should display all the major circuits and give a green light to each one of them, one at a time, AFTER it screens the voltage.
mccsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 12:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,008
Basic troubleshooting. The house needs 12VDC to run most of it's control systems and the lights. There is a big relay that shuts off most of the 12 VDC so that when the unit is in storage they do not run down the batteries. The switch that controls the relay may say store or may say nothing. The easiest way to check how it is set is to unplug the unit, turn on a light and see if it lights. If it does the battery is connected. IF it does not try the storage switch. You will probably hear the relay clunk. Then the light should light. IF not you have a problem with the 12VDC. Fix that so other things can run.

FWIW some units are wired so the converter that changes 120 VAC to 12VDC gets powered when plugged in and some have the converter wired to the battery. The first kind does not charge the battery unless the storage switch in in run mode. The second version needs the storage switch in run mode to do anyting. Bottom line is get the switch in run mode then go from there.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 02:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
cdinatl's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 222
Poor guy, lol, his head probably just exploded with all that great and helpful assistance. Been there 💥

HR Ambassador 38 PDQ 360DP

cdinatl is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Problems Grady Ray Monaco Owner's Forum 5 07-05-2015 09:15 AM
My 06 Itasca Meridian 36 G is giving me electrical problems. Hawaii Dick Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 07-02-2015 12:21 PM
Electrical problems bisquit Newmar Owner's Forum 6 11-06-2014 08:33 PM
Electrical problems jimboborino New Member Check-In 7 03-09-2014 09:17 PM
2006 SurfSide Electrical Problems rcshaw Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 02-01-2014 08:01 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.