Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2013, 08:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Andrewmason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 47
Electrical problems, bad ground?

I'm having electrical problems; when washing MH sometimes feel a tingle shock when touching it. It also trips ground fault breaker. How and where do I check for a bad ground? 2006 Monaco sig , thanks
__________________

__________________
Andrewmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-27-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
I would think where you are hooked up is a bad connection. How do you have it hooked to shore power?
__________________

__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,705
I agree, please provide more information, are you on 120 VAC shore power? where? same source every time? using extension cord? Which GFCI is tripping out? We experienced that once ( well,our daughter did when she stepped out of the MH with bare feet) at a private RV park. I did some testing and discovered the RV park had faulty circuits at multiple power pedestals. The MH aluminum skin measured 90 VAC to earth!! When I proved it to the park manager she immediately phoned the owner, who arrived in under 30 minutes, along with an electrician in his work van.
Our daughter was OK, just very scared.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
ARe you washing it at home ? Maybe plugged into a 120vac receptacle through a regular extension cord. If so check for a broken ground on the extension cord and or a bad ground at the electric outlet. I had the ground prong on my extension cord break when I had it plugged in at my house once. Gave the same symptoms you are talking about. Your problem is almost guaranteed to be a bad ground coming into the unit somewhere.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:38 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewmason View Post

I'm having electrical problems; when washing MH sometimes feel a tingle shock when touching it. It also trips ground fault breaker. How and where do I check for a bad ground? 2006 Monaco sig , thanks
You have a bad ground connection!

Trace it down before someone gets whacked enough to stop their heart.

It can be anywhere from the power supply company to some where inside the coach.

It could be as simple as a loose connection on the ground wire.

If you feel unqualified to tackle the job, then hire a professional to find the problem.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:41 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
Plug tester

Any hardware store will have plug testers for about $5. No RV toolbox is complete without one.

I had weird electrical problems with a fifth wheel and traced it down to the plug in my garage being mis-wired. Hot & neutral were swapped.
__________________
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 05:57 AM   #7
Member
 
Andrewmason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 47
I was washing it at home, I have used 2 different cords and 2 different receptacles , all on ground fault , they trip instantly. Bought new heavy duty cord same thing at different location. How many grounds does a MH have and where are they ? Thanks
__________________
Andrewmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewmason View Post
I was washing it at home, I have used 2 different cords and 2 different receptacles , all on ground fault , they trip instantly. Bought new heavy duty cord same thing at different location. How many grounds does a MH have and where are they ? Thanks
Quote and reply with answers.

What cords? 50A or 30A or 15A or 20A?
What is the MH? 50A or 30A
Are you reducing down to a house hold 15A plug?

An RV has one ground.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:43 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewmason View Post

I was washing it at home, I have used 2 different cords and 2 different receptacles , all on ground fault , they trip instantly. Bought new heavy duty cord same thing at different location. How many grounds does a MH have and where are they ? Thanks
Since my last post, one thing that has bothered me is the fact about feeling a tingle even though the power cord was plugged into a GFI and it kept tripping. That part doesn't make any sense to me. Maybe you can explain.

However, based on the additional information you have supplied, the problem is definitely within your RV.

Start with your shore power cord and make sure all of your connections on the plug and the coach end are secure with no damage to the wires strands.

Next, go to the transfer switch and check the inside doing the same.

Your 120 VAC sub-panels would be next to see if ALL connections are tight, secured and in good shape with no damage or discoloration.

Once the sub-panels have been checked, then proceed to each 120 VAC outlet making sure each has been checked with an outlet tester that Muddypaws suggested.

Also check out the inverter making sure that the ground is well secured.

Once you have done all of that, report back as to your findings.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,322
Hi Andrewmason,
Every time I have had this situation, the problem was the shore power, not the coach. Start with getting the shore power checked out.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 05:43 PM   #11
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,781
Washing coach and outside outlet may not mix, take a read of this link may help in resolving your problem.
More Tech information.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:13 PM   #12
Member
 
Andrewmason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 47
When I felt the tingle shock it was not plugged into ground fault receptacle. I think I have found a short in my 30 amp to 110 cord, not sure yet because I don't have a ground fault receptacle available right now. Will post back later, thanks
__________________
Andrewmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 07:40 PM   #13
Member
 
chastainat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
You might want to check your coach plug.... We pulled into a campsite and I plugged in the 50 amp plug. When I touched the coach, I got shocked.

After checking the plug, we found it was not properly grounded and we had to replace it. Problem solved.
Tony
2003 Windsor PST
__________________
chastainat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Richard was correct and I noticed you qualified your statement. It is impossible to get a shock off of a ground fault interrupter unless you have some serious house wiring problems. In the early days when ground fault interrupter circuits were first being sold. I know of someone that was at a demonstration where the salesman took a regular metal case drill plugged it into the GFI and then jumped into a swimming pool with the drill running. Too extreme for my taste but it illustrates the point.

I do not think you have a short in your cord. I think you have a broken ground. You said something about two different cords and had the same symptoms. At this point you need an ohm meter and someone that knows how to use it. If you do good if not get someone that does to help you. take your entire cluge that you use to power the motor home with you want the cables adapter etc that plugs into your house on one end and your motor home on the other. Plug them together but not into the house or motor home. take the ground wire of the plug that plugs into the house. Put the ohm meter lead on that ground wire. put the other ohmmeter lead in the ground pin of the cord where the MH plugs in. look for low to zero ohms. ( If you do not know which one is the ground on the MH check all of them to see if you get low to zero) if you do not find the zero reading on the motorhome end then take one of the adapters off and make the same check. At some point you will find the open ground. If you check the cable and all of the adapters and you have a good ground. then take the motor home cable and check the ground on it to the chassis of the motor home. This might be time consuming but It should find your problem for you. I would not worry about checking it with a ground fault interrupter because it is going to shut the power off immediately.
__________________

__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.