Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2013, 02:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Holly Springs, MS
Posts: 97
Electrical Question

Hi friends. Electricity is my weak suite but I think my question is easy for you smart guys. I don't want to make an assumption and have it turn out to be expensive. I'm assuming that if I buy a 50 amp surge guard/power protector (such as this one) it will still protect me when using the adapter to my plug and plugged into a 30 amp pedestal. I'm guessing it's an "up to" number but I want to be sure. We've only been at this a little over a year and have always had 50 amp campsites. But the one we are heading to in a couple of weeks only has 30 amp hookups. I found a nice list of approximate amp draws that I can use to stay below 30 but I'd also like to know if there is some simple device to plug in somewhere to tell me my draw at a given moment. Thanks in advance for the help. This forum is a gem for us new folks!
__________________

__________________
memphisflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Yes, that will work fine.

The unit you linked to has an LCD display that shows the current draw. You don't need another device to show that.
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 3,335
If your motor home has an Intellitec Powerline Monitor, it will shed loads as necessary and show the load in amps. it doesn't show load with a 50 amp connection, only 30 amp.
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C Handicap Equipped
F53/V10
1999 Jeep Cherokee & 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.