Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2014, 10:18 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Chuck48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
This is all complicated. To make it easier to understand, think of it this way. If you have a EMS and the wiring at the pedistle is wrong, it will show 30 amps and limit you to 30 amps therefore not overloading the neutral. If you don't have a EMS, you could draw too many amps, with no device to limit it, it could over load the neutral, if the pedistle is wrong. Since you have a EMS you're ok, except you cannot use up to your potential on amps.
__________________

__________________
Chuck48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-21-2014, 07:23 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 1,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini5362 View Post
Like I said in my earlier post I think that what everyone is saying about the neutral makes sense i just have to think about why that is. There seems to be something wrong in thinking that if you have two 180 degree out of phase circuits the neutral could be carrying zero current if they load is exactly the same. I need to think about that for a while.
You need to remember that AC stands for Alternating Current - if you use an oscilloscope to view the voltage you'll see a sine wave that swings up and down around 0V at a frequency of 60 cycles per second. The waveform will alternate from approximately 180V above ground to 180V below ground - the value we use to quantify that voltage is something called the Root Mean Square voltage, or about 120V.

Now when you have a single hot line installed you have that line swinging above and below ground, with the return line completing the circuit, carrying the same current as the hot line. Now, add a second line, that is 180 degrees out of phase: when L1 is at +120V then L2 is at -120V and the return currents in the neutral are also 180 degrees out of phase. Since currents add when L1 is carrying +20A and L2 is carrying -20A then add +20 and -20 and you get 0.
__________________

__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2008 smart fortwo Passion
Good Sam Member #566004 * FMCA Member #F431612
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 09:40 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
Good job Alan.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 09:56 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Bumps's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: FTer Class of 2015 Origin: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 1,536
Alan: That's a great explanation. (I'm a visual learner). Thanks! \ken
__________________
Ken & Deb (WIT Club, FMCA, SKP, Harvest Hosts, and grateful volunteers with SOWERs)
2005 Winnebago Vectra 40FD w/400ISL and Allison 3000MH on Freightliner's Evolution chassis, Onan QD7500, 1000w Renogy solar, BlueOx tow gear, and 2015 Cherokee TrailHawk toad.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Bumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 09:42 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan_Hepburn View Post
You need to remember that AC stands for Alternating Current - if you use an oscilloscope to view the voltage you'll see a sine wave that swings up and down around 0V at a frequency of 60 cycles per second. The waveform will alternate from approximately 180V above ground to 180V below ground - the value we use to quantify that voltage is something called the Root Mean Square voltage, or about 120V.

Now when you have a single hot line installed you have that line swinging above and below ground, with the return line completing the circuit, carrying the same current as the hot line. Now, add a second line, that is 180 degrees out of phase: when L1 is at +120V then L2 is at -120V and the return currents in the neutral are also 180 degrees out of phase. Since currents add when L1 is carrying +20A and L2 is carrying -20A then add +20 and -20 and you get 0.
Thank you for this. I am actually very familiar with everything you said. I know what kirchoff's law is and how it works. It is just something I never thought about in depth. When you analyze a circuit you plug in this math and this is the answer. This questions made me stop and think something that I know better than to do. In reality current is the flow of electrons along the wire. I just was thinking about how if you have 50 amps flowing from phase L1,L2 and 50 amps out of phase from L2,L3 the math says that it is equal to zero if both currents are of equal amplitude but out of phase by 180 degrees. I know the math. But if I have a toaster plugged into a receptacle on L1,L2 and an identical toeaster plugged into a receptacle on L2,L3 Both toasters are going to work but the math says that L2 is going to have 0 amps on it but L1, L3 is going to have the amount of amps the toaster uses to heat up. I appreciate your attempted explanation but I am just curious how you have zero electrons moving in L2 but you have current flow through L1, L3
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 07:31 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,978
I think it depends where you look at the circuit. Draw it up and the summing junction is the common buss at the panel. What cancels out is current back to the pole transformer center tap. I think that is where they come up with the double the current idea. There is no other place where it can happen.
__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 08:45 AM   #35
Member
 
SewFishy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 62
Electrical theory is nice and EE's can discuss it till the cows come home but I didn't see your problem fixed.

Check your dishwasher circuit. Do you have one? Breaker off or need full reset? Washer removed? Panel on Vectra (07) monitors dishwasher 120V AC line to enable 50 amp L2 side at input switch. If breakered, disconnected or loose connection in dishwasher or line to panel your panel will drop to 30 amp and enable load control. Your pole monitor/will show L1 and L2 good. Bad dishwasher breaker will also cause fault. Drove us crazy in South Dakota where it was cold. Now in Louisiana where it is not cold.. but problem fixed. Good Luck.
__________________
Mary & Ed. Sassifrass the dog. 07 Vectra 40 TD/Samsung Retro. Honda Fit Toad. "Living the dream." We plan to live forever or die trying!
SewFishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 06:00 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Catcoach's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home is where we park.
Posts: 336
First off all thanks for all of the responses, I have enjoyed the dialogue concerning how to test etc. Honestly much of it was beyond my comprehension, but nevertheless educational.
So here is what I have done. Turned all breakers, including dishwasher, washer dryer, inverter etc on and off several times. Plugged and unplugged the power source, tried running off of the generator, etc. had an electrician look at my breaker panel, he says I have 240 on both legs, but my coach is only operating on 30 amps.
I am open to any new ideads, thoughts or suggestions.
__________________
2005 Winnebago Vectra, 2013 Ford Edge AWD toad, Jim & Barb along with our two Westie co pilots Maggie and Buddy
Catcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:34 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,978
I don't know how the power management works in your coach but I can say this. IF you have 230 VAC coming in to the transfer switch or beyond the problem is in the power management system. I'd call the factory help desk and see if they had any ideas. It sounds like whatever they sense with and/or control the 30/50 changeover with has a problem.
__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:59 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catcoach View Post
First off all thanks for all of the responses, I have enjoyed the dialogue concerning how to test etc. Honestly much of it was beyond my comprehension, but nevertheless educational.
So here is what I have done. Turned all breakers, including dishwasher, washer dryer, inverter etc on and off several times. Plugged and unplugged the power source, tried running off of the generator, etc. had an electrician look at my breaker panel, he says I have 240 on both legs, but my coach is only operating on 30 amps.
I am open to any new ideads, thoughts or suggestions.
First of all thank you for the interesting question. It questioned some concepts I have known for 50 years and gave me a chance to have an interesting theoretical discussion with friends something I have not done in years.

Now as to helping you. I honestly think sewfishy gave very explicit explanation of how your problem could have happened. I know you reset the circuit breaker but he also mentioned broken wires or bad connections. I have never played with an EMS my coach does not have one. Does your dishwasher work ? If it does that would tell you whether or not you have power to it. If it does then I think the advice to call the coach manufacturer would be wise at this point. If you have correct input power and the EMS is not recognizing it either the monitoring line for the EMS has a problem or the EMS itself is bad.

Oh and for what it is worth. I am past the point of discussing this with EE's I am putting in a call to my friend with a Masters Degree in physics next.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 10:01 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,338
Again check your transfer switch. You have the power with the Gen, but not on shore. The only common area IS the transfer switch. If you have a HANDYMAN available 5 minutes and you will have an answer. And in 10 either fixed or what you need to order.
PLEASE READ THE OP's FIRST POST. ALL THE THEORY IN THE WORLD DOESN'T COUNT WHEN YOUR NOT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 01:32 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by OLYLEN View Post
Again check your transfer switch. You have the power with the Gen, but not on shore. The only common area IS the transfer switch. If you have a HANDYMAN available 5 minutes and you will have an answer. And in 10 either fixed or what you need to order.
PLEASE READ THE OP's FIRST POST. ALL THE THEORY IN THE WORLD DOESN'T COUNT WHEN YOUR NOT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM.

LEN
You are quite right about reading the post first. I misread where the OP said everything worked with generator.

Did you notice post #36 where the OP said an electrician checked the coach circuit breaker panel and he has 240 volts across both legs. That would eliminate the transfer switch as the problem.

One thing I might have missed but exactly what is not working. I realize AC units are not working but If my understanding of the Power monitoring system is correct It will allow either air conditioner to work just not both at the same time. If he turns one on at a time will they both work.
Is there anything else that is not working.
I think the Power monitoring system either the sytem itself or wiring for monitoring has a problem if everything will work as long as you stay under 30 amps.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 11:37 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: KENNER, LOUISIANA
Posts: 131
Well I am really wanting to find the final answer to this problem as stated by the OP. These forums contain a wealth of information, and I sure appreciate all the helpful responses that educate me on problems that I have not faced yet. I just love following along and learning so much about these favorite toys of ours!
Please let us know what you find out was the problem to start!
Thanks again! And good luck!
__________________
RABBITFISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2014, 12:45 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Catcoach's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home is where we park.
Posts: 336
I promise that I will update this thread when I get the problem fixed. Now working 6 days a week at Amazon,10 hr days, so it may be awhile before I can call Winnebago for help. In the interim I am managing on 30 amps by balancing my need for coffee and heat. Amazing what a coffee pot plus in amperage.
__________________

__________________
2005 Winnebago Vectra, 2013 Ford Edge AWD toad, Jim & Barb along with our two Westie co pilots Maggie and Buddy
Catcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
50Amp Service Questions TexasSprinter RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-23-2014 09:57 AM
RV Service in Texas... and more Statgeek iRV2.com General Discussion 15 08-20-2014 05:35 PM
Lost 50 amp service in coach. jcaab RV Systems & Appliances 21 01-12-2014 02:53 PM
Upgrade Travel Trailer Electrical BassinDmax Boondocking 2 04-23-2013 09:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.