Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2007, 06:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
I am using a cell phone system with Alltel. It is only somewhat successful. I have a lot of trouble getting kicked off just at the time I want to send an email. This is even when I have three bars on my signal strength.

I am using a modem and the cell phone.

Does anyone think that using the card in the computer with your cell phone provider works better?

Beverly
__________________

__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-22-2007, 06:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
I am using a cell phone system with Alltel. It is only somewhat successful. I have a lot of trouble getting kicked off just at the time I want to send an email. This is even when I have three bars on my signal strength.

I am using a modem and the cell phone.

Does anyone think that using the card in the computer with your cell phone provider works better?

Beverly
__________________

__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 06:58 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 10
Yes, I use a card from Cingular (verizons is good too), you can connect to the internet and surf or access emails just like at home. I travel for business and can use it about any place I go, rest stops, etc, not just cities.
I think an unlimited service is about $60 per month.
__________________
sawman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 08:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 185
We use mobile office with Verzion and the cell phone acts as the modem. We can call and have it turned on and off and are charged $2.00/day when it is on. We use a smooth talker booster which generated a 3 watt rather than a 0.5 watt single when we get in the boondocks.

Works like a charm.

AIR cards are 60 bucks a month all the time
__________________
2002 Dutch Star 3587 DP

Pushed by a KITTY KAT
wallynm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
traveler of california's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,048
We use our LG CU400 phone tethered to our computer (Toshiba laptop) and subscribe to unlimited data with Cingular Communications Manager (ATT) and have very good luck regardless of our location. Have only been shut out in the a very few remote locations where nobody was getting cell service.
__________________
Nick
Allegro Red 34QFA 2014
traveler of california is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 01:33 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 601
I too am using a Cingular air card in my laptop, connected to a Wilson Trucker antenna on the roof. We are currently at Brookings, OR at an RV park on the waterfront, great view of the ocean. Signal is -59 dbm, 5 bars. We had to download an update for our computer, it was not ready for the air card. Is running good now. Not DSL, but a lot better than dial-up. Guess I should take a walk on the beach, but this is more fun.
__________________
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 08:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
Thanks to all of you for your replies and information.

Beverly
__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 01:13 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
Get rid of the modem between your phone and the computer and it will probably work better. With digital phone service (just about all of it these days) there is no need for a modem device - just a cable to the computer (usually a USB port) and some software.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 05:31 PM   #9
Member
 
waterboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Haven, MI, USA
Posts: 45
The setup you have with Alltel is one of the best, they are upgrading towers all over the coutry and with there new upgrades in software soon you will be able to lock on any Sprint tower at EVDO speed. Another plus with your cell phone cabled to the computer is the internet only cost $25 A MONTH NO CONTRACT. Another plus is you have a cell telephone service where with a card that's all you have is internet. I don't know if you have a EVDO ready cell phone if you don't you need to upgrade your cell to the EVDO service. Here's the numbers for Alltel internet service techs
(Alltel web tech help number 888-235-3282 - 866-299-4039)Right now I'm sitting at Spartan service in Charolette, MI running over 540 kbps a second on a Samsung 520 cell cabled to my computer and after I'm done with internet I can use the same phone to call my wife. Hope this helps you.
__________________
waterboy/co-pilot Mary

2007 DSDP/4320
waterboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 11:27 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 17
I switched from Sprint to Alltel about three months ago. I use the Startec 6700 Windows Mobile phone. I just plug the phone into either my laptop or my Samsung Q1 Ultra Mobile and use the phone to power my internet connection on the laptops. I also have the option of using Windows Mobile on the phone itself but I've found the screen is much to small and the unit way to underpowered to be of any real use.

Connecting to my laptop in EVDO areas I usually get about 400-500 mbps and in 1XRT areas I get anywhere from 100-200 mbps. The thing that made me switch from Sprint to Alltel was that Alltel had much better coverage in Kansas where I use the internet connection to my laptop.

How you use the phone itself or connect to a laptop for internet is going to depend on which phone you have from them and since you don't give that information I can't offer more. My wife has the Moto Razr and it is a very simple phone but it will also allow me to use the EVDO connection from it to a laptop and it is much smaller than my 6700 but it is not Windows Mobile.

R
__________________
Racedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:40 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2
I'm using WIFI in Motion wifiinmotion.com for my coach with great results. Yes there is a signal booster and an air card. This is what I know. We use sprint because sprint and Verizon will each allow the other to share network no roaming and ATT will not.

Im told that ATT shouts about 3 G wireless phone service which is new for them. Sprint and Verizon developed a 3G data network and ATT did not. I'm not an expert but love my WIFI in Motion and its has never let me down. With this system I can describe it like your cell signal normal is like whispering and with this equipment it is more like shouting! To get signal through.

Michael
__________________

__________________
nut roaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cell phone and internet diandtom Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 01-29-2007 07:31 AM
cell phone on way to Florida northbridge Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 08-28-2006 12:04 PM
Cell Phone Batteries Fossilhog MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-25-2006 05:48 PM
Outside Cell Phone Antenna Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 09-05-2005 08:51 AM
cell phone on way to Florida New Member Check-In 9 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.