Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-01-2016, 08:23 AM   #1

Engine Access for Maintenance - Procedures

Newbie to Motorhome question:

I build race cars, so I'm a pretty decent mechanic overall. However, this is my first motorhome (96 Newmar Kountry Air Gas), and I'm looking at this engine "bay" and trying to figure out how the hell you get in there to do anything?

I just bought this and need to do plugs/wires, and drive belt on it just for good measure, plus put a new exhaust manifold gasket on it (slight leak). That last one seems easy, the others, not so much.

Can someone give me the 101 on getting in there? I see a bunch of stuff in the front end that looks like it can come off for easier access, but is it just a matter of climbing in there to get to the front of the engine?

Thank you in advance!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2016, 10:21 AM   #2

Ford Super Duty Owner
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinbdavis View Post
Newbie to Motorhome question: