Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2011, 03:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
engine computer - 1999 Ford V10

1999 winebago adventurer V10 Triton . scanner says replace computer. Ford says part is obsolete. What do I do?
__________________

__________________
smokechaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-03-2011, 03:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Smokechaser,this link might lead to something helpful.
I will keep looking around for other possibilities.

Repairs

Dick.
__________________

__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 03:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
This looks like a second possibility.
I have never worked with them,just looking for someone that might have an answer.
ECU,ECUs,ECM,ECUs,TCU,TCUs,TCM,TCMs,BCM,BCMs

Dick.
__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 04:20 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
Thanks for the links . I will check them out.
__________________
smokechaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 05:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
She and I's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 255
3 on e-bay
ecm ford v10 | eBay
Richard
__________________
May the wind be at your back,The sun in your face
And your love by your side!!
USMC 68/74 RVN 69/70. Semper-Fi!
She and I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 05:17 PM   #6
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Here's 3 places. I've used a reman place in Jacksonville, FL a couple of times with good service. I just can't remember the name of the place.

Automotive ECU ECM PCM TCU Lexus Toyota Mitsubishi Ford repair used
Repair your ecm or have a rebuilt ecm shipped for free.
Rebuilt engine computers, Engine control modules, ECU | ECM | TCM | BCM
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:46 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
the mechanic ordered new computer. It came in with cracks in it and prongs bent. The old computer had a banks chip in it. could the chip be bad . and if so how do i diagnose it? ran engine without the chip and scanner reads No Codes. Put chip back in and runs fine with No Codes again. Course he didn't run it three hours in 90 plus degree heat either. Any suggestions?
__________________
smokechaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 89
What was happening with engine? Was performance hindered?
Did check engine light just come on?
I have had many a ford turn light on for no reason other than to bring it in to dealer to read.

Also, write down the code that they tell you and do a google search to see if others have had this same problem. This is the 2nd thing my mechanic friend does, 1st is to read codes.

Good Luck
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 08:29 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
first time would not connect to scanner. next time we tried code came back saying replace ecm. once the ecm was out he saw the Banks performance chip. after removing the chip and putting ecm back in there were no codes at all. he then put the Banks Chip back in and ran for test drive. no codes at all. All items were within specified parameters. After two more test drives the original symptoms never reappeared.
It originally was stalling out and not running well after a three hour trip.When it did start I could not get over 28 mph. If you gave it any throttle at all it bucked and stalled out. Once the engine cooled down for an hour it started and ran smooth again. With the engine cooled off the next morning is when the code came back to replace the ECM
__________________
smokechaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Nick-B's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vaughn, WA
Posts: 1,364
Smokechaser, hope you've got it fixed and it was just a bad connection that got "fixed" by removing and re-plugging all the connections.

However, keep this in the back of you mind for the future. The symptoms you describe (less the "replace computer" error) can also be caused by a dying fuel pump. If the problem happens again, have the shop check the fuel pressure.
__________________
Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara 360MB 36' w/slide.
Ford F53/460 chassis, 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee "toad"
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 02:38 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 12
I had the fuel pressure checked . It was 35 to 40 Psi and stayed steady or increased with a load on ithe engine.
__________________
smokechaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 05:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
She and I's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 255
It originally was stalling out and not running well after a three hour trip.When it did start I could not get over 28 mph. If you gave it any throttle at all it bucked and stalled out. Once the engine cooled down for an hour it started and ran smooth again. With the engine cooled off the next morning is when the code came back to replace the ECM[/QUOTE]


Hi, Sounds like it was running in limp mode...have you replaced the ecm?
Check crank sensors...
Richard
__________________

__________________
May the wind be at your back,The sun in your face
And your love by your side!!
USMC 68/74 RVN 69/70. Semper-Fi!
She and I is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, ford, v10



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1999 Winnebago Adventurer 35' Ford v10 stingray1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 12-11-2010 06:01 AM
No space tire rod 35U F53 Ford V10 1999 Lake11969 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 12-02-2010 09:32 AM
2006 Ford V10 ferd3 MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 08-10-2010 09:32 PM
2001 Ford V10 engine braking jvanhorn MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 07-14-2009 08:33 AM
Ford V10 whistler Zeema12 MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 03-28-2006 11:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.