Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2012, 06:14 PM   #29
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
The latest RVIA standards specify that the slides be powered from the engine (chassis) batteries, but they don't have as much amp-hour capacity as the house battery bank, so newer coaches specify that the engine be running to keep the battery voltage up to operate slides. Some may allow you to get by with just the key on, but I've heard that at least some new models actually require that the engine actually be running.

There is clearly possible to jumper +12v to the slide interlock wire to "pretend" that the engine is running, but identifying the wire for each make & model would be a chore. Probably easier to jumper +12v direct to the slide motors, which are usually accessible in the storage bays for the main slides. A bit more difficult for bedroom slides, though.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
You would be amazed at how easy it is for the bedroom slides in my coach, Accu-Slides, 3 screws, remove a panel (wood) and there it is. Just like that. The control module is there too.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:45 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Clayobx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Willow Lakes RV & Golf Resort, FL
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifftall View Post
Hey Clay. I dread the day when I have to manually retract mine however I know how and have the specific tools I need. Your slideout manual should address this. If you don't have one you can get one from FW or if it's a Power Gear System you can email them. Info@powergearus.com.
Thanks Cliff, I just e mailed Power Gear for the info. How does one individual with limited flexibility get that full slid in manually. Not trying to change the original op's thread
__________________
Clayobx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:13 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
My manual says to disconnect the connector(s) at the controller. The reason for that is that the motor becomes a generator when you are manually retracting the slide and could damage the electronics in the controller. You also have to disengage the brake mechanism. I know were it is, but have not tried it. When it cools off, I may give it a test run to see how hard it is to retract a slide and make sure I carry the correct socket to do so.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:38 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
New to me coach and first RV with slides. Engine must be running and park brake engaged to move the slides. Why? And if the engine won't start, slides are out, and you need a tow to a repair shop? Is there a way to over ride the engine running requirement?
As you can see from the many replies you received there are ways to get the slides in or out without the engine running. The biggest reason for having the engine running is to keep the batteries charged as opening the slides puts lots of strain on the batteries. Some RV's may require the ignition key to be on and the brake set! Others may have different safegaurds in place. To by pass the safegaurds all you need is to know what they are for your coach and make sure the batteries are fully charged. As for having the coach leveled, it is best! You are taking the chance that deploying the slides may put a twist in the frame and cause things to move where they should not move (such as a windshield twisting in its frame) That does not mean it cannot be done if an emergency arises. RV dealers have found that they can get by without the leveling process and quite often will open them for display without deploying the jacks. However if they have a problem, chances are they have a service dept availabe for repairs.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:41 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
My 2002 Fleetwood Storm states clearly on the slide button facia that the engine should be running while moving the slides (paraphrased) . I did, however, run them out once without starting the engine just in accessory mode. They were a little slower as they run off the chassis battery. I only did it once and won't do it again, it caused unnecessary strain on the motors running them with lower voltage.

My two cents worth.....
__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 11:46 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
I haven't the faintest idea what the manual says on my rig and the manual is not here to consult. I cannot remember reading anything that suggest having the motor running.

But I know over ten years I have never operated the slides with the engine running. On the other hand except for rare occassions my slides operate at a time when the batteries should be at peak charge, either after driving all day or after having been hooked to power at least over night. I can tell the motor is working hard for the 15 seconds or so it takes to move the big slide in front.

No problems however.

Must be a manufacturers discretion.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 12:15 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Same with me. At home, I'm always hooked up to my BatteryMinders and at the dunes, I open them as soon as I get there. When I leave, it's after I do my morning recharge.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:01 PM   #37
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
Clay,mine has one motor. You release the brake and with a 3/4" ratchet wrench ( not enough room for a socket ) you crank it in( ha ha ). Then reset brake. Looking forward to you posting PG's response.

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:40 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Hey Cliff, does it go pretty fast or do you have to crank like, forever?
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:52 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
I've heard it takes forever.......Cliff? We want to know?
__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:58 PM   #40
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
I hope I never know. Haven't had to do it but I bought the wrench.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3797258386.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	675.4 KB
ID:	23889

But I slept in a Holiday Inn Express last night
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:14 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
Hey Cliff, does it go pretty fast or do you have to crank like, forever?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lincolnboy2 View Post
I've heard it takes forever.......Cliff? We want to know?
Shouldn't take a cranky person very long at all.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:19 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
Shouldn't take a cranky person very long at all.
__________________

__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.