Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-01-2013, 10:31 AM   #1

Exhaust brake, what should I feel when activated?

I am new to exhaust brakes and was wondering a couple things.... (By the way this is an older exhaust brake, mechanic suggested I get it changes to a newer version. For now I am going to try my older one.

1st what should I feel when I switch it on while driving down a grade and let up off the accelerator?

When I switch it on and off I do not feel much of a difference. Although my mechanic did go through the system to make sure it was working.

2nd when parked, with the switch on, I hear lots of air escaping in the rear of the coach, when I switch it off the air stops. Is that normal?

3rd, now that the exhaust brake is connected the air system is depleting. When the engine is not running It takes a couple hours but empties completely. The braking pressure on my gauges stay in the same place and never goes down unless i hit the brakes. It might be a coincidence but I am thinking since that is the only thing that changed on the air system it is probably causing the issue.

bobioknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!