Originally Posted by Zoafan
If you buy used you don't put the msrp you put the price you paid.
After talking with other NV residents, they are telling us that part of the registration fees are still based on MSRP and the law hasn't changed recently. The MSRP of a vehicle will not change no matter how many times it changes ownership. It is the original MSRP of the vehicle when new (not including options). The DMV will supposedly have a data base that they can look up the MSRP of any vehicle. The exception being a custom made one. According to what I'm told, they need to know the MSRP in order to calculate the Governmental Services Tax portion of the registrations fees and that is based on the depreciated value.
Here is an explanation from their website pertaining to what they call the "Governmental Services Tax" part of the registrations fees:
Taxes are based on the original Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) set when the vehicle was new.
(NRS Chapter 371)
- The MSRP will not change over time regardless of vehicle age or condition. The first calculation is the DMV Valuation of the vehicle, which is 35% of MSRP.
- The DMV Valuation is then depreciated 5% after the first year and 10% per year thereafter until it reaches a minimum of 15%. The minimum Governmental Services Tax is $16.00. *
- The Governmental Services Tax is 4 cents on each $1 of the depreciated DMV Valuation.
- The Supplemental Governmental Services Tax is 1 cent on each $1 of the depreciated DMV Valuation.
Nevada Vehicle Registration Fees
However, even though your registration fees might not be $117, I didn't know that your motorhome was a 1999 model year. Being that old, I'm thinking that your total fees will be in the $300 range? But hopefully, I'm wrong and you're right and your fees will be $117.
Sorry for taking this thread off topic. I know the discussion should be about Texas.