Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2015, 08:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
jteems's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 2
Fridge Without an Off

Just purchased a new RV, a Bounder 33C. It has a Samsung residential refrigerator, model RF197 ACRS. It has a lot of bells and whistles, but what it doesn't have is an off button, for when I want to temporarily store the RV without food but with other things still working, which would not be possible if I have to use the battery cut-off switches as Samsung suggests. Their other suggestion is to never take food out of the fridge and leave it on all the time, which is just as ridiculous as building a refrigerator without an off switch.

The refrigerator is run through a 2000 W inverter when not on shore power. I could, of course, turn off the inverter, but the fridge would then continue to run until it depleted the batteries, not a desirable outcome.

Anyone suggest a work-around to this engineering marvel?
__________________

__________________
jteems is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-07-2015, 08:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RedRaider93's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 412
I bought my first RV last year, and I learned the hard way that the fridge doesn't shut off when I disconnect the house batteries. However, on mine (a Forest River Berkshire) the fridge will turn off when I turn the inverter off, as long as I'm not connected to shore power or running the generator.


I would say if your fridge continues to run after turning the inverter off, then it may not be installed properly.


Good luck!
__________________

__________________
RedRaider93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
TBS-POPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Valley Springs, Ca
Posts: 368
If you turn off the inverter then the fridge would go off. The batteries would be fine. Fridge is 110v not 12v. Batteries supply 12v dc power to inverter to make 110v ac power. Turning off inverter disconnects batteries from fridge.

What about just flipping the fridge circuit breaker in the main panel????
__________________
2018 Vilano 375FL
2017 F-350 CC DRW 6.7
TBS-POPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:37 AM   #4
RVM #74
 
PushedAround's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 2,853
Blog Entries: 7
Your MH doesn't have an outside panel for ventilation and to access the plug?
__________________
Larry & Cheryl Oscar, Louie, Ranger & Henry (our Springers)
PushedAround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:11 AM   #5
Member
 
wizzo442's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Why not just pull the breaker on the inverter that powers the fridge? That's what I do with my Samsung.
__________________
Wizzo 442
2006 Monaco Diplomat
40PDQ
wizzo442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
Old school...

Is the outlet for fridge accessable?

If so then get a 1/2 switch 1/2 outlet and wire the switch to control the outle and you are done.

These are standard items in the electrical department and about 13 bucks or so.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,921
For the small current draw it uses, you may be able to use one of those bedside lamp switch cords. Better yet a wireless remote outlet
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 11:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,196
It is so much simpler to just flip the breaker that says "fridge" on it and be done. Fridges are always on a separate breaker when residential fridges.
__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 11:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
When I installed my 197 I added a wall on/off switch above the refrigerator so it is easy to disconnect power to the refrigerator. Maybe you could check to see if you have space and ability to do something similar. It was very easy for me because the refrigerator was out of the cabinet.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 12:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melmoses View Post
It is so much simpler to just flip the breaker that says "fridge" on it and be done. Fridges are always on a separate breaker when residential fridges.
Exactly!
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 04:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by TQ60 View Post
Old school...

Is the outlet for fridge accessable?

If so then get a 1/2 switch 1/2 outlet and wire the switch to control the outle and you are done.

These are standard items in the electrical department and about 13 bucks or so.
Yep, helped a friend put a 197 in his Camelot last year and he added a switch although he wired into the existing plug for the old refer.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 06:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melmoses View Post
It is so much simpler to just flip the breaker that says "fridge" on it and be done. Fridges are always on a separate breaker when residential fridges.
That's good if you have easy access to the panel. On my RV the panel is under the foot of the bed. Have to get down on hands and knees and have a flashlight to see which switch is which. Getting down is OK but getting back up isn't as easy as it once was. The wall switch I added is easy and accessable.
__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 11:05 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Kpjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 200
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1423414878.302575.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	198.3 KB
ID:	85553

I use the X-10 Powerhouse modules to control 120 Volt devices. You need to buy a transceiver, appliance module and remote (~$53). I have used it to control outside lights, refrigerator, and engine block heater in previous motorhomes. Pretty easy to set up and use. All you need is enough space around the outlet to plug in the module.

Jim


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Jim & Karin
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35K
2007 Volkswagen EOS
Kpjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 11:19 AM   #14
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melmoses View Post
It is so much simpler to just flip the breaker that says "fridge" on it and be done. Fridges are always on a separate breaker when residential fridges.
OR simply unplug the refrigerator power cord as others have suggested.
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update on my Residential Fridge Retrofit Gadget Man RV Systems & Appliances 11 12-03-2014 07:34 PM
Gas / Elect Fridge Mod OSP1268 RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-08-2014 10:53 PM
Older Dometic RV Fridge TahoeTravel Travel Trailer Discussion 6 05-12-2014 02:30 AM
Fridge Replacement rvjimzhr Class A Motorhome Discussions 52 03-20-2014 04:42 PM
Fridge Problem Rossi6998 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 01-10-2014 09:02 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.