Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2012, 06:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Fuel gauge

I have a 2006 Monaco diplomat. The fuel gauge stopped working on the last day of our trip. I checked the fuse panel but didn't find one for the fuel gauge .
__________________

__________________
Barhymus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-16-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rvjimmy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Almond, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,455
Join the crowd, a lot of us have the same problem. It might be the sending unit or maybe just a bad ground somewhere. As for me I would have to drop my tank to get at the sending unit, So I just use my trip meter for now until I get fired up to drop the tank. Jim
__________________

__________________
2002 Newmar Dutch Star DP3569 330 CAT - Toad Jeep Liberty, DW is the Nagivator. Work to travel and everything revolves around the price of diesel.
rvjimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rgreen45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bradenton, Fl.
Posts: 705
Showing full? empty? or in between? Does key-on vs key-off make any difference?
__________________
Ray G.
ASE Master Med-Heavy Trucks
RVIA Certified
rgreen45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:51 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
The fuel gauge shows empty. Key on or off makes no difference . No movement at all. . We fueled up in Georgia and traveled to Orlando and when we were almost there I looked at the gauge thinking we should have about 1/2 tank left . Gauge was at almost empty. Next morning put in 40 gal. And gauge didn't move.
__________________
Barhymus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
rgreen45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bradenton, Fl.
Posts: 705
Ok .... I think we have a couple Monacos on the lot right now. I'll investigate into the fuel level configuration and see if I can offer any worthwhile advice or troubleshooting guidelines. It'll be Monday though.
__________________
Ray G.
ASE Master Med-Heavy Trucks
RVIA Certified
rgreen45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:48 PM   #6
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,278
"Barhymus"....Your coach has a Centroid sending unit http://www.centroidproducts.com/moncal.htm . It's unusual for one of these to quit completely. Often, Monaco will run two items off of one fuse, as an example, radio and fuel gauge, but only list the radio on the fuse panel. You may have to go through all of the fuses in the run bay, under the driver's window, and check. Pep Boys and other auto stores sell a small fuse tester that has two pins on one end that are adjustable for various size fuses that allow you to test the fuse while it's still in place. A volt meter set on OHMS or buzzer next to the OHMS setting will also work.
If it's not a fuse, you need to check the sending unit. It's located on the top of your tank on the driver's side. You have a fuel door built into the bay door on the driver's side that can be opened. On the bottom of the bay door are two screws, remove the screws and lift the bay door up and use a prop to support it.

About 18" into the bay, you'll see the sending unit on the top of the tank. It's about three inches in diameter. It has hoses and wires going to the top of it. Check the wires and make sure they're all connected. You would be well served to loosen and clean them.

The sending unit also has adjustment screws on the top to set the full and empty marks. As with a lot of Monaco stuff, the sending unit may have undercoating sprayed all over it and will nedd to be cleaned off.

I attached the Centroid information sheet. If you reach a dead end, you can call Centroid. They've been very helpful in the past. The good news, if you need a new unit (which I doubt), it can be replaced without dropping the tank.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.