Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2014, 08:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
charliej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 906
Furnace filters?

I have a 1999 Damon Intruder, but the furnace is similar on other coaches. My question is, does the furnace require a filter and if yes where does it go? The air inlet on mine is under the fridge, outlets on the floor.
__________________

__________________
charliej is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-04-2014, 03:58 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Filter not required on furnace.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 06:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
charliej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 906
Thanks RV Wizard
__________________
charliej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 06:59 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
I'm a HVAC contractor, not very familiar with your furnace. I would recommend all furnaces with a blower have a filter, the motor and the heat exchanger will last considerably longer if you use a filter. It may be possible to retrofit your intake to hold a filter. A local HVAC shop could help you with it. Also many people don't know that you can order any size filter to help fit you application. If you post a picture I mite be able to give you some ideas.
__________________
71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
charliej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 906
Thanks 71 Camaro, I think I should be able to come up with something. Would there be any concern about the filter causing to much restriction? The fan runs on 12 volts.
__________________
charliej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by 71camaro View Post
I'm a HVAC contractor, not very familiar with your furnace. I would recommend all furnaces with a blower have a filter, the motor and the heat exchanger will last considerably longer if you use a filter. It may be possible to retrofit your intake to hold a filter. A local HVAC shop could help you with it. Also many people don't know that you can order any size filter to help fit you application. If you post a picture I mite be able to give you some ideas.
Could you show us some pictures of how you did yours please?
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:23 AM   #7
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV Wizard View Post
Filter not required on furnace.

AND, (by Suberban, the maker of my furnace), NOT RECOMMENDED.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:47 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
I'm new to rving and would like to no why they aren't not recommended ? The motors in furnaces are air cooled which after a short amount of time become clogged with dirt over heat and fail, the blower wheel will get filled with dirt and get out of balance which will make the bearings in the motor fail. The heat exchanger loses it's ability to cool properly, which will lead to decreased efficiency and cracks. A properly sized filter will do more good than harm to a furnace.
__________________
71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 750
Well, if you were in the furnace selling business wouldn't you want a steady market for replacement furnaces and parts, in addition to OEM RV manufacturers?
__________________
NITEHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:55 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
There is a filter media call poly blue, which has very little restriction that you can try. Many people use a 3m pleated filter which can cause over heating of your furnace. there is many types of filters available that in my opinion will help filter the air going into your furnace without causing harm. I will do some research on this subject.
__________________
71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:59 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
"Well, if you were in the furnace selling business wouldn't you want a steady market for replacement furnaces and parts, in addition to OEM RV manufacturers?" That seams to be what there plan is. Just so all of you know, no residential furnace comes with a filter, we have to add them at the time of installation.
__________________
71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:02 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
This particular manufacture of your furnace mite be assuming you are not responsible enough to change the filter on your furnace, therefore doesn't recommend one. A dirty filter also can cause serious problems with your furnace.
__________________
71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:07 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Statgeek's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,578
My Fleetwood has filters on each of the air intakes... I haven't cleaned them yet (only had this coach for a year) but it looks like you just back out the screws, wash off the filter media, and re-install.
__________________
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G, Cummins ISL,Freightliner Chassis, Allison 3000.
2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad w/ Blue Ox Aventa tow bar and M&G Braking System
Statgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:07 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Bilgerat's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: @ China Lake NAWS Ridgecrest CA. next Quartsite
Posts: 356
Send a message via AIM to Bilgerat
I looked in my Fleetwood manual, could not find where I read the warning, I have a HydroFlame furnace, and I read a warning "Not To Use" a filter due to obstructed air flow which could effect the proper safe operation of your appliance.
I was concerned as when I first bought the unit there were no filters.
Best advice so far is call Suburban.
__________________

__________________
Bilgerat: Chuck, Kassie, Freddie, Lady, Prince, Smokey, Merlin
2000 Pace Arrow Vision 36', V-10, Banks, Onan 5500, Blue Ox, 2014 Forester, SKP 130599, FT'ing 4+Yrs.
Bilgerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential fridge over furnace in 2004 Diplomat DST (1.5 bath) tkcas01 Monaco Owner's Forum 55 08-17-2015 10:28 AM
Suburban SF-42 Furnace doesn't work on Batteries briankstan RV Systems & Appliances 9 10-20-2014 11:00 AM
Changing A/C Filters Bill in FL Entegra Owner's Forum 12 10-02-2014 07:51 PM
Furnace Issues Chiefbvfd Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 05-20-2014 08:17 AM
Bad furnace control board? DarqMan Forest River Owners Forum 4 03-21-2014 04:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.