Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2010, 10:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
bobnshirlene's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 120
furnace on but temp not stable

We are having some very cold (for us) nights and days here in West Central Ga. We have set the temp so that the furnace will come on if it drops below a certain temp. At first this seemed to be holding pretty steady, but after a few nights my DH noticed that the temp wasn't holding anymore. He set the furnace at 55 and each time he checked the temp was 10 to 15 degrees lower. He runs the temp up and the furnace does come on but when he checks back it seems that it isn't coming on routinely to keep the temp up to the setting. Has anyone had this problem before? This is our first winter and we haven't used the furnace much at all, so it may be a lack of knowledge on our part. Suggestions, advice are greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
BobnShirlene
Allegro Open Road TGA Ford & Saturn Vue
bobnshirlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-15-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,804
Bob if your living in coach I would put temp up where your wife is comfortable.
Cold weather you will get drafts from windows and if not thermo pane more cold, especially your windshield.
Do you have return vents with filters they may need to be clean.
Your furnace may also have to keep your holding tank & plumbing areas warm to prevent freeze ups.
If you have slides and can live with them in would require less heat space when it warms put them out.
When we were in IN. last January was 1* for 4 days and wife was warm as toast had therm up 72* slides in it was snowing.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 12:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bobnshirlene's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 120
007, thanks so much for the response, sorry I wasn't clear, we are just trying to keep the pipes and tanks from freezing, we aren't living in the motor home.
We are just concerned because we don't know if there is anything wrong with the furnace, and if it lets the temp drop, will something freeze. We didn't winterize with the RV antifreeze because we do plan to use the coach.
__________________
BobnShirlene
Allegro Open Road TGA Ford & Saturn Vue
bobnshirlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 01:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Bbasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 59
digital or analog thermostat?
Digital ones will keep the heat more even...
__________________
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 08:50 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,105
Are you saying the thermostat setting changes, or that the furnace is not keeping the interior at the set temperature? And the furnace has shut off (not running continuously)?

If the latter, it is likely the furnace heat is directly warming the thermostat enough to make it shut off, while the rest of the coach remains cold. Make sure no heat duct is blowing on the thermostat, or the remote temp sensor if your t-stat has one.

Look at the temp on the thermostat itself - set temp vs the ambient that the t-stat sees. As long as the t-stat thinks it is warm enough, it won't call for more heat.

RVs heat & cool very unevenly, especially in extreme temperatures. They are drafty, leaky and have numerous hot/cold spots.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 09:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
bobnshirlene's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 120
The thermostat is digital and it is right across from where one of points that the furnace vents out. This could very well be causing the difference in the temp setting and the temp inside the coach. We will look into if there is anything we can do to divert the direction the warm air is blowing to try to better control the temp. Today it is suppose to be 60 here, at least we will have a break from worrying for a few days.
Thanks again for the support we have received from this forum. We hope that we will be able to return the favor someday. We are still learning so much about the coach.
__________________
BobnShirlene
Allegro Open Road TGA Ford & Saturn Vue
bobnshirlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 10:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,954
If it is set at 55 and it does drop 10-15.
If you are not in it 40 will still keep things from freezing.
If the furnace puts heat into the basement area where the tanks are.
My rear furnace is the one that does that.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 05:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monacoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,675
If you have sensors mounted on your walls, take the plastic covers off and blow the dust off. They get dirty and effect heating. Solved our problem.
__________________

__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 340 Cummins
Monacoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydro Flame furnace problem Jim.UT RV Systems & Appliances 1 08-01-2009 05:04 AM
Another LP Furnace problem... Moder2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 26 12-19-2007 06:19 AM
Unreliable Furnace Bob&Pat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 10-15-2006 01:20 PM
Trans temp with Interceptor surfride Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 06-12-2006 01:39 PM
Suburban furnace won't light in cold weather BryannasTreasureBox MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 01-22-2005 08:12 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.