Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2016, 12:09 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
No because maybe when supply to inverter breaker trips inverter fires up.

Gives warning.

If inverter is close to load center then swap existing full size breaker with compact or double breaker to allow more circuits and move high load circuit from inverter to main.

Suggest using junction box at inverter so a new wire can be added to run to panel so it can be returned to stock easy.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-08-2016, 12:09 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryFit View Post
change 30a--> 20a breaker for inverter on bedroom panel
do you know why there are two "Main" breakers on the panel? could it be one for microwave another for the rest of the coach?
2, 50 amp main breakers are standard for 50 amp service. Every other breaker will be on an opposite leg.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 12:16 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by TQ60 View Post
No because maybe when supply to inverter breaker trips inverter fires up.

Gives warning.

.
Good point but he could leave the inverter off, unless off grid.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 12:19 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by TQ60 View Post

If inverter is close to load center then swap existing full size breaker with compact or double breaker to allow more circuits and move high load circuit from inverter to main.
.
I'm wondering if there is a sub panel for inverter loads. He would have a bit of rewiring to do if there is.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 01:33 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
On our rigs, the Freedom inverter contains an additional transfer switch (battery vs shorepower).

So shore power passes through the inverter on the way to the coach 110v outlets.

If the breakers on the inverter do not like the power draw, they will pop.

If the shore power is routed around the inverter, then the outlets will not be able to receive inverted power.

If a larger breaker is in front of the inverter at the breaker panel, the inverter will still trip.

I suspect the only solution is to modify the inverter box itself with a larger breaker?
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 10:46 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,532
Blog Entries: 2
i checked the coach manual, it says the same thing - the inverter does act like a traffic cop - when shore power is present, it directs the power to the outlets; when shore power is absent and inverter is on, it will invert from 12vdc to 120vac and send electricity to outlets. in my case, even though i turned the inverter off while using shore power, it still monitored the loads and cut the electricity off when it sensed the overloaded. smart design. i don't think i will touch it as it works as suppose to.
__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 09:02 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Ours has a seperate ats for the inverter and that ats is selectable to which circuit the inverter supports.

In your case it seems the manufacturer built in such a way that many outlets ate on the inverter and it can be easily overloaded resulting in tripping the protector in the inverter.

Your thoughts about bypassing are sound as they can provide an outlet not protected nor limited by the inverter.

An easy but laborious task but one could add complete new circuit and outlet where one would be using the high loads.

To be clever one could run the new supply wire to existing outlet if that outlet only has one set of wires, then break the tabs between the two and have one inverted and one direct.

Being careful that both on same phase if a 50 amp coach.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a house plug for Shore, Gen & Inverted power TomMiller RV Systems & Appliances 12 08-16-2015 05:58 PM
Partial power loss on Power Distribution panel MikeandBecky Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 02-17-2015 07:01 PM
Vista 26HE galley vent upgrade to power vent Oldtrooper Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 01-06-2015 09:16 PM
troubleshooting no power to receptacle gemini5362 Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-19-2014 09:35 AM
Banks Power Ultimate RV Power System - any experience? Dusterella Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 04-11-2014 02:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.