Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2016, 10:22 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,531
Blog Entries: 2
Galley power out

i'm on a shore power. i did a stupid thing just now - while the heater was on, i turned the induction cooktop on. well, each is about 1300w. in a few seconds, 125v power in galley, entertainment center, restroom and all outlets were out except the fridge and microwave. the breaker panel is this:



i turned the main and heater breakers off and on, no effect. where else to look at? all suggestions are appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-07-2016, 10:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Go out and check the power post.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
When that happens to our rig, one of the breakers on the Freedom inverter has popped.

Press it in to reset.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by deandec View Post
When that happens to our rig, one of the breakers on the Freedom inverter has popped.

Press it in to reset.

x2. Mine is the same. Overloading a 120v circuit trips a breaker on the inverter.



Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freghtliner XC, CAT 3126B
__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
B52Guy's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 222
You might have popped the "breaker" on your inverter/converter.

I did a very similar thing....and I searched high and low for the popped breaker. I finally figured out what I had done when I noticed my GFI plug (and the entire circuit following it) had no power to it. The GFI had NOT popped...it had no power. That was my clue. Obviously there was a popped breaker somewhere. I finally found the breaker popped at (on) my inverter. There are two 15 amp "breakers" on the side of my inverter. Once was popped. It is a little tiny black button that when popped shows a white collar. Just push it back in to reset.
__________________
'07 Holiday Rambler Endeavor PRQ ("Elvis"), and our 2012 CRV toad
B52Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 10:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,531
Blog Entries: 2
gentlemen, you are awesome!!!! exactly, a breaker on freedom popped out. now it works.
my hat off to you all !!
__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 11:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Glad you have it working.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 11:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,531
Blog Entries: 2
dean, your 13 year rv life has accumulated a big pool of experience... you are always (almost) hitting the nails on the head
__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 11:34 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
This one was easy.

It happened to us the first time while in Tucson with 1+" of snow falling.

Locals said, "it never snows here".

Unloading and crawling into the basement to get to the inverter was memorable.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 08:08 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
When I read the topic: "Galley Power Out" my first thought was GFCI in Bathroom.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 08:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
First clue was well labeled breaker panel had no faulted loads listed but did have a large inverter listed.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 11:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
BRex45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 300
Does anyone know how the inverter can be bypassed so just the circuit breaker in the panel can be in the loop on a certain line?

I would much rather walk to the bedroom and reset a breaker than walk outside to an end bay and push the inverter re-set button.

We don't plan on using the inverter for kitchen stuff like a toaster or coffee pot, which will pop the inverter breaker quickly.

Thanks!
__________________
BRex

'97 Country Coach Intrigue
BRex45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 11:41 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRex45 View Post
Does anyone know how the inverter can be bypassed so just the circuit breaker in the panel can be in the loop on a certain line?

I would much rather walk to the bedroom and reset a breaker than walk outside to an end bay and push the inverter re-set button.

We don't plan on using the inverter for kitchen stuff like a toaster or coffee pot, which will pop the inverter breaker quickly.

Thanks!
I would say change the breaker in the panel to a 15 or 20 amp one. The OP has a 30 amp breaker supplying a 2000 watt inverter. The inverter breaker is probably less then 30 amps.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 11:59 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,531
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I would say change the breaker in the panel to a 15 or 20 amp one. The OP has a 30 amp breaker supplying a 2000 watt inverter. The inverter breaker is probably less then 30 amps.
change 30a--> 20a breaker for inverter on bedroom panel
do you know why there are two "Main" breakers on the panel? could it be one for microwave another for the rest of the coach?
__________________

__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a house plug for Shore, Gen & Inverted power TomMiller RV Systems & Appliances 12 08-16-2015 05:58 PM
Partial power loss on Power Distribution panel MikeandBecky Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 02-17-2015 07:01 PM
Vista 26HE galley vent upgrade to power vent Oldtrooper Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 01-06-2015 09:16 PM
troubleshooting no power to receptacle gemini5362 Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-19-2014 09:35 AM
Banks Power Ultimate RV Power System - any experience? Dusterella Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 04-11-2014 02:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.