Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-28-2013, 04:43 PM   #1

Question GCVW and frame extensions.

Have been wondering how the manufacturers come up with the weight rating for the hitch and load when they weld extensions to the frame of the RV. I was a welder in my previous life and repaired hundreds, if not thousands of rusted and broken frames on cars, trucks and motorhomes. It was not that rare to have the extension pull off the back of an RV that was towing something, and in many cases I really did not think they were overloaded. Anyway, I was crawling around the bottom of our R-Vision the other day and saw that the extension on it was just butt welded with a small 1/4 inch plate kind of tacked to the inside of the C-channel rails. It has a 5000# tow rating, but the construction really didn't look that great to me. There were no cracks or signs of failure, but I still welded 2, 1/4 inch by 1 foot long plates on the outside of the rails and now I feel better. The question is, how do they come up with that rating when the construction is obviously a "weld it the best you can" senario. Just wondering.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!