Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pine Bluff, AR
Posts: 10
Generator

I have a 2010 four winds hurricane with a 5500 onan generator was wondering if it's necessary to prime the generator before using for an extended period of time
__________________

__________________
kimwms58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-13-2011, 12:27 PM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
I prime mine everytime I use it unless it was just run in the same day.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 12:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
If it has not been used for a long period of time you may need to prime it to get it running. On our previous MH, 2007 Hurricane with 5500, if I had not started the generator for 2-3 months I would have to use the prime button on the generator before I could get it started. If we used it every few weeks it started right up.
__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote generator start not working, please help ShapeShifter Monaco Owner's Forum 20 08-24-2016 12:05 PM
06 Hurricane Onan 5.5KW Generator heat mgscott4 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 1 07-26-2011 01:21 AM
Generator only putting out a few volts AC TallPaul RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-25-2007 03:57 PM
Generator Coolant Level OldForester Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 10-25-2007 06:56 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.