Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2016, 03:36 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,920
Some of the older 30 amp systems could run 2 ACs, on the 5500 watt generator, one on each breaker. The 20 amp breaker did not go thru the transfer switch.

The ACs were wired to a switch to chose only one while plugged in to 30 amp shore power.

Plugged in, only one can run but you can choose which one. To run both, start the gen while plugged in.

If everything except one AC works while plugged in AND only 1 AC works with generator power, I suspect the transfer switch is not switching.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2016, 08:10 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by whataboutbob View Post
Well I found the ats and with the generator running I have power to the black wire and not the white. So I'm thinking its the converter. Its original so its time to up grade.
Black or Red for hot, white for neutral that should be connected to ground on the generator side of the transfer switch. Not sure how or why you would measure a voltage to it. I would be measuring between the white and black or red if there is a red.
__________________

__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 07:34 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
It was the transfer switch got it in yesterday now every thing works. But still going to replace the converter its old.
__________________

__________________
whataboutbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries, generator, house batteries



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charging House Batteries jtermini30 MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 11-17-2016 09:08 AM
I think I killed my 6-volt house batteries bud01234 National RV Owner's Forum 27 09-29-2015 12:15 PM
House Batteries Wont Charge Honey_Hole National RV Owner's Forum 65 01-22-2015 08:54 AM
House batteries losing charge quickly Ramzfan Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 10-30-2014 06:54 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.