Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2011, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
Generator issue

I have a 2006 Georgetown 370 TS Class A. When I was in Texas in May the generator quit. I was able to talk to someone in Dallas who told me to check the brushes. I pulled them out and the one on the bottom of the assembly was stuck inside the plastic housing which was melted. In fact, in fact I broke the housing trying to pry it out. The top on looked fine. Since it's all one unit I replaced it. That did not fix the problem. The generator (Marquis 5500) would run as long as the start button was held down but die once it was released. I tried many different things but it still does not work. I could look inside the housing where the brushes mount and see the place where they race on the armature was clean and shiny on the top ring but not on the bottom. I cleaned it as best I could with a emory board but not sure if it was good enough. I am at a loss as to why it's not working but I think when the weather cools down some I will see about replacing the oil pressure sensor. That is about the easiest and cheapest thing I can think of. Any thoughts? (Moved over from Forest River forums)
__________________

__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2011, 09:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TitanicPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 144
You can short across the oil pressure sensor leads and see if it will start. You might find some good information in this thread.
__________________

__________________
Dave & Marilyn - Southern Wisconsin
1985 33' Pace Arrow "Titanic", 454+.040", Thorley Tri-Y
Quadrajet, Torque Cam, TH475 w/Cooler, No Dash A/C
TitanicPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:51 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
You only said
Quote:
Marquis 5500
.
Is that a 5.5BGM version (non-computer) or a 5.5HGAB version (computerized)? There are different manuals and approaches to troubleshooting. You need to provide the complete Model and spec number for people to help you.

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 12:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tom77hmstd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: homestead fl.
Posts: 280
Had the exact same problem on my hdkba 5.5 quietdiesel. The brushes and holder come complete from Onan #0212-1303. Clean the stator slip ring with light sand paper on the end of a pencil. Mine ruined the stator and finally the controller because I did not get the slip ring clean enough causing the brushes to jump and arc.By the time it was finally fixed it took $2000 good luck.
__________________
Tom Homestead Fl.
2006 National RV Tradewinds 40D
tom77hmstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:13 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
I had the same problem with my onan 5.5 I replaced the brushes and block and cleaned the slip and installed the new bushes and tried to start it and a strange noise came from my onan, it was running, it was the best sound I've ever heard, now my a/c works and I can cook again, lol,
__________________
Jsskipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.