Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2015, 09:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
generator power into unit

Have an 87 Winnebago Chieftain. Generator does not provide 110 power to inside of unit or appliances. Any ideas??
__________________

__________________
russrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-30-2015, 09:03 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Check the breakers outside on genny?? Then look for loose wires.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Precept 35UN
mowdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 09:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,281
Do you have a transfer switch or do you have to plug either the shore power or the generator into a an outlet to power the coach?
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 11:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
If you have a transfer switch, that is where I would start. (assuming you have checked the circuit breakers on the generator) Take the cover off the transfer switch and see if you have power coming from the generator. If no power from the generator. Go back to the generator and remove the cover and check for power to the breakers. If no power, the generator is not working. If you have power at the breakers, check the electrical connection at the generator compartment that connects the generator outlet line to the power line to the changeover box.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 08:30 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
87 Winnebago transfer switch

Any idea where the generator transfer switch is mounted on an 87 Winnebago Chieftain?
__________________
russrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 08:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RandyKathyM's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 191
I have no first hand experience with your coach, my fleetwood product transfer switches are mount behind the breaker panel. I you can find your breaker panel you will need to remove it from its mounting and attached to it will be a metal box with the transfer switch inside. That is if it is like the Fleetwood products.
__________________
Randy & Kathy
2004 Southwind 37A
RandyKathyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 08:43 AM   #7
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by russrv View Post
Any idea where the generator transfer switch is mounted on an 87 Winnebago Chieftain?
russrv
A '87 coach may not have an automatic transfer switch.
When I wanted to use the on board generator on my '75 Minne Winnie the coach's shore power cord had to be manually plugged into the 30A receptacle coming from generator.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 08:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Plantation, Fl
Posts: 1,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by russrv View Post
Any idea where the generator transfer switch is mounted on an 87 Winnebago Chieftain?
I have no idea where a transfer switch (if you have one) would be located on that MH. I would suggest looking in and around where your shore power connects to your MH, for a 30 or 50 amp outlet. If you find one, you have to plug your shore power cord into that outlet, to get power to the MH.
__________________
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K
2016 Mazda CX5, on an Acme tow dolly, 4 trips 5800mi
Now 2017 RWD F 150 with a drive shaft disconnect
Mich F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,338
Some of the "older" Winni' s had a manual switch in the fuse panel that you switched between shore and Gen power.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 05:39 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
generator power into unit

Found a couple things:

Generator (130 hours) will start with switch on generator or dash but only stay running while you hold the switch.

Shore line socket and junction box under dinette seat only showing 60 volts with generator running

5 amp fuse keeps blowing out
__________________
russrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:53 PM   #11
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by russrv View Post
Found a couple things:
Generator (130 hours) will start with switch on generator or dash but only stay running while you hold the switch.
Shore line socket and junction box under dinette seat only showing 60 volts with generator running
5 amp fuse keeps blowing out
russrv
See this pdf and/or call Flight Systems for Onan generator help:
http: //www.flightsystems.com/pdf/onan-rv-troubleshooing-guide.pdf:
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:12 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Onan generators (Do not know about other makes) are smart enough in many cases that if they do not produce 120vac they shut down.. I mean why run and burn gas if you are not doing your job.

You described what happened to a friend of mine a few years back..
You do not want to know the repair price.

But it might be something simpler

60 volts.. Measured hot to hot (Both generator outputs are hot,there is no ground and thus no neutral) or hot to ground (60 volts hot to ground is normal.. For reasons I wish not to type this AM. Same "Neutral" which on a generator is also hot.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:46 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
Those generators will act like that (run as long as the start button is down) if there's no oil pressure too.

It sounds to me like your genny is due for some service. They aren't too terrible to work on if your handy, and finding wiring diagrams and such not hard if you're resourceful.

Some small engine shops will work on them.
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:11 AM   #14
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by russrv View Post
Shore line socket and junction box under dinette seat only showing 60 volts with generator running
russrv
Here is a blog post dealing with the successful repair of a a generator which would only generate a similar low voltage: RVing: The USA is our BIG Backyard: Three R’s - Removing, Rebuilding and Replacing our Onan 6.3KW LP Generator
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Our fairly new Amish cooling unit bites the dust! chiefdave Monaco Owner's Forum 8 04-03-2015 07:03 PM
2006 HR Navigator (roof problem) water puddle around ac unit tony navi Monaco Owner's Forum 8 02-08-2015 06:56 AM
Coleman central a/c unit freezing Rolfsted 5th Wheel Discussion 12 06-14-2014 04:41 AM
Bose Can speakers distribution unit location Freddiev Monaco Owner's Forum 14 03-15-2014 01:13 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.