Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Palos Verdes Est. Calif.
Posts: 12
generator running no power to coach

when i run my generator i do not have any power from it to the coach. i checked the 30 amp breaker on the gen.not tripped. i checked the breakers on the panel inside none tripped .iturned all of them off then on still no power to coach. i do have 120 to coach when connected to shore power. where should i check next? any ideas would be helpful. thank you notsoturnkey
__________________

__________________
turnkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-11-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
calhyatt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Weston, Fl.
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnkey View Post
when i run my generator i do not have any power from it to the coach. i checked the 30 amp breaker on the gen.not tripped. i checked the breakers on the panel inside none tripped .iturned all of them off then on still no power to coach. i do have 120 to coach when connected to shore power. where should i check next? any ideas would be helpful. thank you notsoturnkey
Do yourself a favor and actually reset the 30 amp breakers on the generator.
__________________

__________________
2003 Newmar Kountry Star 3905, Freightliner XC chassis with CAT 330. Winnie the black lab, pretty Airbus captain wife, retired airline pilot with 11 grandkids. UH-1 pilot (Huey) U.S. Army 1967-1983. RVN 68-69. Northern Idaho my summer home.
calhyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:31 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Welcome to the forum.

I had a similar problem with my coach some time ago and learned that I have a simple on/off switch mounted right on the generator which I had apparently flipped off while wiping it down. You might check for a similar switch near yours.

You might also want to add the year, make and model of your coach in your signature line. It'll help folks help you faster without having to post questions and wait for your responses.

Best of luck.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:48 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cherry Creek, BC Canada
Posts: 7,650
On my motorhome the cord you plug into the shore power gets plugged into the generator plug in the electrical bay the shore power cord is located in. Just a thought because I had basically the same issue until I was shown what to do.
__________________
Possum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:53 PM   #5
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
If you have an Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) that transfer power from genset to shore power or vice versus it may be stuck. You could try a sharp tap on the side of it.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 86
If you say the switches on the side of the genny are on and the breakers inside are fine, then I would say problem with your ATS. The ATS usually has a built in time delay relay and if that goes bad, it wont engage.
Time to pull your meter out and do some checking. Make sure you have power at the ATS from the genny circuit and check the time delay relay also.
__________________
vegas39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:22 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Palos Verdes Est. Calif.
Posts: 12
generator problem

Thank you all for the information. I have a 2006 merdian with a 5000w onan I don't know where the ATS is located . I will trouble shoot this problem right after I finish installing my norcold that is laying in the living room .
__________________
turnkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:33 PM   #8
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by calhyatt View Post
Do yourself a favor and actually reset the 30 amp breakers on the generator.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIX View Post
If you have an Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) that transfer power from genset to shore power or vice versus it may be stuck. You could try a sharp tap on the side of it.
x2 on both. These are my first susspicions.
__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
calhyatt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Weston, Fl.
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAZ View Post
x2 on both. These are my first susspicions.
Thanks for your service Taz. Got 2 marines on Active Duty as we speak. Both stateside for once. I can breathe again for another month or so.
__________________
2003 Newmar Kountry Star 3905, Freightliner XC chassis with CAT 330. Winnie the black lab, pretty Airbus captain wife, retired airline pilot with 11 grandkids. UH-1 pilot (Huey) U.S. Army 1967-1983. RVN 68-69. Northern Idaho my summer home.
calhyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:29 PM   #10
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by calhyatt View Post
Thanks for your service Taz. Got 2 marines on Active Duty as we speak. Both stateside for once. I can breathe again for another month or so.
Calhyatt, all my thanks for your 2 marines for their service and to you for raising them. My prayers for their continued safety.
__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
calhyatt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Weston, Fl.
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAZ View Post
Calhyatt, all my thanks for your 2 marines for their service and to you for raising them. My prayers for their continued safety.
Thanks Taz, I am very proud of both of them. Never thought after my service I would have sons in harms way. It's funny how that happens. Guess they listened at the campfire when they were young. Take care sir.
__________________
2003 Newmar Kountry Star 3905, Freightliner XC chassis with CAT 330. Winnie the black lab, pretty Airbus captain wife, retired airline pilot with 11 grandkids. UH-1 pilot (Huey) U.S. Army 1967-1983. RVN 68-69. Northern Idaho my summer home.
calhyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 78
Blog Entries: 6
We have a 2007 Winnie Sightseer and it also requires the shore power plug to be plugged into the recepticle in the power bay before the generator power can get to the coach.
__________________

__________________
2014 Keystone Cougar 313RIL.- Bill and Carol Horton
WH347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.