Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Generator use

Do you need a generator to operate a gas oven?
__________________

__________________
1togo
lami_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-27-2013, 12:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
homeless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: http://binged.it/1KdDqKO
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Not unless it has auto pilot light
..
__________________

homeless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:51 PM   #3
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by lami_55 View Post
Do you need a generator to operate a gas oven?
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeless View Post
Not unless it has auto pilot light
..
lami_55
I don't think any RV propane oven needs 120VDC, (from either shore or generator).
However, an oven with auto pilot may need 12VDC, (from the batteries or your converter.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,940
Not at all. That's one of the reasons we selected the gas stove and oven. We boondock a lot and do not have to worry about power each time we cook a meal. The starter for the burners on top was a manual starter just like your BBQ and the oven required a match to start. I replaced the manual starter/match setup with a AA battery operated starter and now there's no bending over and playing with matches for the oven or the top.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Depending on your propane protection system (Propane detector) you may need 12 volts to operate a solenoid (Safety cut off valve) valve, But no, 120 volts has absolutely nothing to do with the stove. or the oven less you have an all electric rig.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 02:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
...120 volts has absolutely nothing to do with the stove or the oven less you have an all electric rig...
Agree.
__________________
2008 AC Allegiance 42G, Spartan, ISL
hooverbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by lami_55 View Post
Do you need a generator to operate a gas oven?
NO.
__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 11:17 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 269
Do you need electric for the gas furnace (heater)? How about the water heater (also gas)?

Thanks
__________________
Doc Vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 11:26 AM   #9
Registered User
 
KSCRUDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Land Of Oz RVM17
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Vegas View Post
Do you need electric for the gas furnace (heater)? How about the water heater (also gas)?

Thanks
just the 12 volt battery system. For the fan on the furnace, and the controls on water heater?
__________________
KSCRUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:03 PM   #10
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Vegas View Post
Do you need electric for the gas furnace (heater)? How about the water heater (also gas)?
Thanks
Doc Vegas
Both an RV LP furnace and a RV LP water heater need propane AND 12VDC electricity to operate.

This video may help you better understand the LP system:
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.