Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-04-2017, 02:00 PM   #1

Getting Licensed in NC for >26,000 GVWR MH

This is my first post to iRV2, and my apologies in advance because I didn’t check all 512 pages of threads before starting this new one. If there’s a previous discussion please let me know.Background is that I’m a VA resident planning to move to NC this summer and then buying a MH (GVWR > 26,000) after a few months there.After hearing wrong info from three NC DMV offices that no special license is required for an RV (i.e. normal Class C license is OK), I got someone at DMV HQ in Raleigh to check the NC General Statutes and confirm with me that a non-commercial Class B license or higher is required to drive a >26,000 GVWR MH.Even a NC MH dealer told me they’d been telling people for years that an ordinary Class C license is OK regardless of the MH weight.A road test in a Class B vehicle is required to get the non-commercial Class B license in NC.