Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2015, 07:58 AM   #1
Member
 
TXwannabe's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Currently At Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 65
GFCI issue - Help!

So, we are in Tucson on our first major trip. Came here for Escapees Boot Camp (which we desperately need).
Issue: was using too many appliances in the coach this morning & tripped a breaker or something? All electrical outlets in the coach are out, but everything else is working. Checked the breaker box beneath the refrigerator, all ok. Only GFCI with a reset appears to be in the bathroom, but it doesn't reset. Checked breakers at RV Park power and ok.

Not sure where else to look? Possible bad GFCI??
__________________

__________________
TXwannabe
2005 Tiffin Phaeton 40QDH/2012 CR-V EX-L Toad
Invisibrake/Roadmaster Falcon All-Terrain Tow Bar
TXwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-05-2015, 08:11 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
I had something similar happen to me. You can test it by removing it and checking for power input with a meter or test light. I replaced mine and all was OK again.

Don
__________________

__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:11 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,333
No GFCI in the kitchen? Probably another breaker box outside in a compartment. And yes, GFCI will wear out or get weak as Petro said.
__________________
2003 Dolphin LX 6355 w/ W22 chassis; 8.1L gasser & Allison 1000
Scooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RoamingGnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 115
Sometime a circuit breaker may look like it is on even when it is tripped. Turn the main (50a or 30a) circuit breaker completely OFF then ON. Do this for both your RV circuit breaker panel as well as the outsede pedestal. Good luck!
__________________
Dave & Lynne - Retired & livin' the dream. '04 Bounder W32 on Workhorse W20 chassis powered by GM 8.1L gasser.
RoamingGnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
rssnape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 330
Do you have an inverter? The outlets run by an inverter are often protected by a breaker on the inverter.


1997 Tiffen Allegro Bus 37', Cat 3126
__________________
rssnape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:20 AM   #6
Member
 
TXwannabe's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Currently At Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 65
GFCI issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter View Post
No GFCI in the kitchen? Probably another breaker box outside in a compartment. And yes, GFCI will wear out or get weak as Petro said.
All outlets in the coach are labeled GFCI protected, but the only one I can find with a test button & reset button is in the bathroom.
__________________
TXwannabe
2005 Tiffin Phaeton 40QDH/2012 CR-V EX-L Toad
Invisibrake/Roadmaster Falcon All-Terrain Tow Bar
TXwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bobb.25's Avatar
 
Rexhall Owners Group
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 407
You mentioned that the GFCI doesn't reset. With the power off to the coach, including the inverter off, try to reset the GFCI. If the reset button stays soft ( won't reset ) you probably have a bad GFCI. If it does reset, then pops when you restore , you may have a downstream wiring problem ( legitimate ground fault ). Unplug everything that will unplug, and try again. I have a receptacle in the outdoor compartment for the fridge/icemaker, and when I wash the RV if I'm not careful with the water, it will trip the GFCI.
Bob
__________________
2003 Rexhall Rexair, 3550 Ford V10 with Banks
2014 Honda CRV-AWD via Blue Ox
Travel with SWMBO and Golden Doodle co pilot
Bobb.25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:33 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,313
Hi TXwannabe,
Post #5 may have the answer. Find the inverter. Check and reset the breaker on the inverter. If this is the fix, you have more work to do.
1. Determine the size of the breaker on the inverter.
2. Label all coach outlets powered by the inverter (I put a small "I" over the outlet).
3. When connecting to these outlets be aware of the capacity that the inverter can supply.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:35 AM   #9
Member
 
TXwannabe's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Currently At Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 65
Winner! winner!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rssnape View Post
Do you have an inverter? The outlets run by an inverter are often protected by a breaker on the inverter.


1997 Tiffen Allegro Bus 37', Cat 3126
And the correct answer is: breaker on the inverter tripped! (Which is just another reason I am glad Boot Camp starts today at noon!)
__________________
TXwannabe
2005 Tiffin Phaeton 40QDH/2012 CR-V EX-L Toad
Invisibrake/Roadmaster Falcon All-Terrain Tow Bar
TXwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:38 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXwannabe View Post

All outlets in the coach are labeled GFCI protected, but the only one I can find with a test button & reset button is in the bathroom.
GFCI's are used in the kitchen, bathroom and any outlets mounted in your storage bays.

I can guarantee you that you have more than one.

Tiffin would NOT have all of those areas protected with only ONE GFCI.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:50 AM   #11
Senior Dude
 
Dogpatch's Avatar


 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Somewhere, BC.
Posts: 5,584
Blog Entries: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXwannabe View Post
And the correct answer is: breaker on the inverter tripped! (Which is just another reason I am glad Boot Camp starts today at noon!)
Glad you got it resolved!

Lesson 345-12A learned. LOL
__________________
Les (RVM12), Bonnie, Morgan and 4 leggers Bella & Bruce
2010 Forest River Cardinal 3450RL 40' Full Body Paint- 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie 6.7 ltr Turbo Diesel, 68RFE Trans. 4x4 SRW SB Pullrite 2900 18K FMCA-420438 Good Sam
Dogpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 10:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
CampingCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 1,144
That happened to me once. Looked all over for GFCI, found only 1 in the bath area. The better half was cleaning & opened a fold up counter extension in the kitchen & found a second GFCI that we had never seen before. It was the one that had tripped. Reset it & all has been good since then.
__________________
2011 40' Monaco Cayman PBQ ISC 360
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
CampingCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
call colin at( A MOBILE RV REPAIR )
he fixed our electrical problems - we were happy with the work and pricing
520 235-2220
__________________
manitou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 08:11 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Three possible issues:
First: Nobody has asked about inverter use.. DO YOU HAVE an inverter?

Reasons

Main breaker box--Breaker---inverter--Breaker(s)---Inverter powered loads

Note the second breaker in that line? It may be part of the inverter, often located around the back where it is hard to see, usually a post type (PUSH IN TO RESET) or it may be in a 2nd breaker box hidden somewhere (mine is in a cabinet)

The second possible issue is the patio outlet (normally) but any appliance can do it too, OFten the seals break down on the patio outlet, it rains, outlet box fills with contaminated water (Rain water is far from pure) and creates a ground fault.. Dry out the box.. also unplug every thing that is plugged in since you may have a faulted appliance.

Finally the tough one... RV outlets are NOT up to my speciication, oh they may meet code ok, but I am a bit more.... something... When I spec stuff out.. I have read several stories (my own included) of space heaters causeing issues with RV outlets,, Everything from "Hot wire smell" (1 of mine) to failed connections, (Another of mine and several others) to FIRE!!!! And it is not always the outlet you plug into (one of mine was, the other was not) sometimes it is an up-line outlet (They are wired like this.

Breaker box===Outlet 1==Outlet 2===Outlet 3 and so on

If you plug into outlet 3, then 1 or 2 can fail.. The standard outlet used in an RV is a "Quick Box" that uses punch down connectors, These are great for telephone and other low current stuff but are really not up to 12 amps of a space heater.

Oh my connection fail was the inverter connection.

Some have had connections fail on the back of the GFCI as well,

That is another type of connection (Stranded to hard copper using a wire nut) that is not always that great.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellitec EMS Issue mm82831 RV Systems & Appliances 10 07-04-2014 05:08 AM
Issue Plugging in at Home - GFCI vettenuts Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 07-03-2014 02:01 AM
Onan Generator Issue - same as Tincup davlun RV Systems & Appliances 0 06-14-2014 05:20 PM
Strange Electrical Issue baldtat MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 01-13-2014 07:44 AM
Issue with slides & jacks nrupracht Monaco Owner's Forum 10 01-07-2014 05:33 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.