Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-07-2012, 10:16 AM   #1

GM 4L80E Tranny Failed Twice

Purchased new 2003 Itasca, 33L, P32 Workhorse chassis with GM Powerglide 4L80E transmission. Transmission failed at 5600 miles in one year and replaced on warrenty. Now, 7 years and ONLY 11,000 miles later it has failed again. Total miles is 16,600. I am in contact with WH and they found an "after market" tranny and reduced the cost from $4500 retail to $2700. This has a 36 month 75000 mile warrenty. I am a conservative driver, tow under 4000# Jeep or boat and store from December to February. Not driven much because it sets on fishing site from Sep through November. I am told to start and run through gears every month -- do all Northern motor home folks do this? Ideas?

thanks, Redhawk

ps: need to change my location -- I am in SW Washington
redhawk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!