Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-31-2013, 07:31 PM   #1

Grey Water Backup

Ok, total newbie fulltimer here. Need your brains. We have a 2012 Thor Daybreak 34KD and just bought it a month ago. Unfortunately, it's got issues.

We left the last campground with 2/3 grey tank full. Along an hour long hilly ride, the familiar stench of grey water came through the coach, but it went away in a few minutes so we thought nothing of it.

We arrived at our next spot with some debris in the bathroom sink and the outdoor kitchen. The outdoor kitchen shows some water damage under the sink. This kitchen also happens to be under our bed area, so if a mold problem starts we are in deep trouble.

We have the area getting aired out right now. Considering a call to the local repair center. Here's our questions:

1. What could have caused this?
2. Should we always dump immediately before hitting the road?
3. How do you stop grey water from backing up?
4. Should I never take hills in my RV with tanks in use?
5. How do I deal with dampness and leaks?
6. We are worried mold could develop now. Do you take it to the dealership to be fixed and dried?
7. Anyway I can fix this myself?

Pictures show some of the issue. One pic is of under the outdoor sink which seems to show drainage from the macerator. The other is a pic of the damage to our front of the kitchen.

Thanks for any thoughts!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3891745880.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	645.1 KB
ID:	45119   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1194067023.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	517.9 KB
ID:	45120  

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!