Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2014, 10:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 113
Blog Entries: 1
Guages dont work on Allegro on Freightliner chassis

Hi there everyone,

We have a 40 foot 2003 Allegro bus on a Freightliner chassis on which the instruments and warning indicators is not working on today. We were getting ready to take off with it and when we fired it up, the engine started just fine and the air came up on the air bags, but we didn't get the regular Low air warning horn and the air pressure gauges never read anything. Even the voltage and fuel level gauges were dead. Also, we did not get any warning lights such as low air or any of the other regular lights. I checked the 'Instruments' fuse and it was fine. I also checked the ground bus bar inside the back of the instrument cluster (accessed from the top of the panel) and all seemed to be intact. The obligatory 'Wire wiggling' rendered no blips of life.

I found the VDC in the power cable bay in the back Drivers side bay. I've worked to remove and reseat the connectors on the VDC. Is there any junction box towards the front of the rig, in the cock pit area where the cable from the VDC terminates to and then branches off to the instruments? I can't find one, but that just might mean I haven't found it yet.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! -

Eric and Carol Anderson
__________________

__________________
luvdoggiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-28-2014, 10:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 141
We had the same problem with our 2010 FL chassis.

On our coach, above and behind the instrument cluster there is an access panel, which when removed allows access to the back of those gauges.

There is a "daisy chain" wire that provides all of the input to the instruments.

Unplugging and reattaching all of the connections solved our problem.

If that doesn't solve your problem, call the Freightliner tech support they are very friendly and helpful.
__________________

__________________
bobguigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 11:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobguigley View Post
We had the same problem with our 2010 FL chassis.

On our coach, above and behind the instrument cluster there is an access panel, which when removed allows access to the back of those gauges.

There is a "daisy chain" wire that provides all of the input to the instruments.

Unplugging and reattaching all of the connections solved our problem.

If that doesn't solve your problem, call the Freightliner tech support they are very friendly and helpful.
We had a similar "burp" on our Spartan Chassis early after we bought it. I agree...you should be able to access the back of the display, pull all the plugs and then reconnect. It fixed our problem and we haven't ever seen it again.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 09:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rbhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 218
I had the same problem recently on a 2011 FL chassis. Swapped a couple relays and everything returned to normal. On mine the relays are in the forward drivers side compartment.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Rbhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 09:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Chuck 1935's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shadow Hills,CA 91040
Posts: 3,020
Call FREIGHTLINER ! I had the same problem. Called FL gave them my Vin and they told me it was loose wires on a relay in the rear of the chassis. I went there and sure enough there it was !
__________________
NOTE; I am not responsible for typos, poor grammer or misspelled word !
04 Itasca, Meridian 34H, 330 Cat/2003 CR V Toad
1933 Ford 3 Window,as seen in Bye Bye Birdie
Pvt. E1 Retired, Shadow Hills,Ca.
Chuck 1935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chassis, freightliner



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large power draw on chassis battery '94 Kountry Star omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 54 01-31-2016 09:22 PM
Workhorse P32 chassis brakes Jim418 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 17 01-08-2016 01:27 PM
Any here replace 99 HR Freightliner chassis air bags? Bad Bolt Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 8 06-25-2015 06:18 AM
Possible Airbag Leak on Freightliner Maxum Chassis (2015 Itasca 42QD) ChrisKW Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 11-06-2014 09:53 PM
Any here replace 99 HR Freightliner chassis air bags? Bad Bolt Monaco Owner's Forum 2 04-06-2014 12:39 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.