Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 89
Heads Up display

My motor home has the steering wheel placed so that the speedometer is difficult to read. is there anyone with experience with an aftermarket head up display? Thanks for sharing!
__________________

__________________
2002 Itasca Sunrise 34D, Allison 1000, 8.1 GM
mx08453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-16-2014, 10:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
EDALLSAILS's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Posts: 726
Check out Garmin they have some kind of heads up display. Don't know if it just gives GPS or other info. safe travels... ed
__________________

__________________
EDALLSAILS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
terry735001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,158
Blog Entries: 11
are you talking moving the dash cluster or adding a new cluster like i did or having some thing shows on the windshield
__________________
terry735001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,135
I put my Garmin Zumo on the dash of our 450 to view the speed. I feel it is very accurate and shows other things I am interested in. Direction of travel, distance to next turn, and elevation. These are the ones I like. There are a number of options to swap out if you have other preferences.

I am not sure what the coach GPS will display but it is down to the right. I will take the Garmin along when we pick up the coach and will use it if I am not pleased with the coach display.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 89
I am not familiar with your solution. Would you be able to point me to the details? Txs
__________________
2002 Itasca Sunrise 34D, Allison 1000, 8.1 GM
mx08453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
terry735001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,158
Blog Entries: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx08453 View Post
I am not familiar with your solution. Would you be able to point me to the details? Txs
the way you worded it is if you wanted to see all info not just speed and installing a new cluster where you can see it

my soluton is setup with a 8.1l but i think its way not what you may be wanting to do

Dakota Digital - Digital Instrumentation and Accessories

http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.c...d=664&mode=cat

VHX-1200: 1967- 69 Marquez Designs Camaro

this is my setup but i am dumpping the stock dash all the way

VHX-1014: Universal Dual Round VHX Instrument
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-04-16 17.28.04_Lakeland_Florida_US.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	237.4 KB
ID:	63085  
__________________
terry735001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
89sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 879
my sister inlaw had a maxima that had the heads up. loved driving that car, you never had to take your eyes off the road to see your speed!!! always wondered why all vehicles don't use this system...

we install quite a few gps speedometers in old cruiser cars that you can't get parts for anymore.
__________________
89sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 89
Impressive! I will look into the choices. TX for the feed back.
__________________
2002 Itasca Sunrise 34D, Allison 1000, 8.1 GM
mx08453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,331
Almost all HOSpitality speed display and you will want one anyway. Garmin will also alert for over speed limit at the same time as MAP routing display.An other option is a scan gauge, plus it will be a backup for most if not more than your dash gauges do now. Cost GPS. $100 and up Scan Gauge $150 o.r so.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
JEEPOHOLIC's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 215
I have the Scan Gauge D and a 7" Lowarence GPS on my dash
__________________
JEEPOHOLIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 11:18 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Moonrover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,685
There are many types/styles of aftermarket GPS speedometers. Most can be replacements for in-panel gauges, or set into an above dash bracket.

http://www.speedhut.com/gauges/GPS-speedometers

I presume your problem is with viewing your present speedo due to its location. Not knowing what your instrumentation cluster looks like, but is it possible to swap the location of the speedo? Say for instance into a similar sized opening like the tachometer? Maybe that too is in a poor visual location, but it is just a thought.

As to a poor instrument cluster arrangement, don't feel alone ... for some reason the ease of "seeing stuff" was not job #1 for the RV driver area designers. If I want to see any of the temp gauges, I have to either ask my wife to lean over and give a reading or nearly twist my neck out of joint doing it myself. Yeah ... if the steering wheel was not there, the gauges would be easy to see! I can tilt, and telescope, but something is always hidden. 😁
__________________
Moonrover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 12:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonrover View Post
There are many types/styles of aftermarket GPS speedometers. Most can be replacements for in-panel gauges, or set into an above dash bracket.

GPS Speedometers

I presume your problem is with viewing your present speedo due to its location. Not knowing what your instrumentation cluster looks like, but is it possible to swap the location of the speedo? Say for instance into a similar sized opening like the tachometer? Maybe that too is in a poor visual location, but it is just a thought.

As to a poor instrument cluster arrangement, don't feel alone ... for some reason the ease of "seeing stuff" was not job #1 for the RV driver area designers. If I want to see any of the temp gauges, I have to either ask my wife to lean over and give a reading or nearly twist my neck out of joint doing it myself. Yeah ... if the steering wheel was not there, the gauges would be easy to see! I can tilt, and telescope, but something is always hidden. 😁
I too have this same problem. I'm unable to see two of my pressure gauges, turn signal indicators, and high beam indicator. Since I'm also hard of hearing, I have trained my self to look at the turn indicators that are mounted on the bottom of my outside mirrors.....oh, and of course, I get a "friendly" reminder from my navigator whenever I forget to look at the mirrors!

I once had a 1993 Pontiac SSEI that had the windshield "head up" (you only have one head, so it's a "head" up not "heads" up) display and I thought it was the greatest thing since peanut butter.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:22 AM   #13
Member
 
gsgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 93
Costs a little more, but gives you everything

It takes a little bit of configuring and playing with, but if you have a diesel, the Silver Leaf VMSpc is great for connecting to the engine and getting everything displayed on a computer screen.

I used a Microsoft Surface Pro 3 with a mounting bracket for a large tablet that bolted to the side panel. Got a 12v adapter for the Surface Pro power and connected it all up.

You can configure everything you want to see from speed, cruise set speed, tach, HP, torq, turbo pressure, oil pressure, voltage, trans temp, engine temp, MPG (instant, avg, rolling), fuel rate, miles before empty, current fuel level, current gear, desired gear, trans mode (I have an Allison 6), etc....

You can also configure the colors to be shown on the circles or a graph bar for each indicator. This means that when everything is running fine, it is green. When going slightly high or low, yellow. Bad level=red. I can glance at the display and see everything is green and then focus on the road. No more staring at analog gauges trying to figure out what level it is at and then trying to remember where it should be.

I NEVER look a the dials or gauges. They are less accurate and harder to read.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0004.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	217.6 KB
ID:	159704  
__________________
gsgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 10:04 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
JFXG's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Today? Mercer, PA
Posts: 3,614
LOL..... if you add a few more gizmos you'll also need a remote camera (and display) so you can see what's in front.
__________________

__________________
John & Diane, Fulltimers. RVM103 NHSO
On the road since June '12 with Lincoln, the guard cat.
2002 Dutch Star 40, Freightliner, Cat 3126, 2004 Element
JFXG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weather report for Fiddle heads TeJay Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 0 05-07-2014 06:55 PM
The XiteSolutions XSG2NA-X1S radio display is more than disappointing tfiedler Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 04-30-2014 03:02 PM
load Meter wont display xtreme Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 04-21-2014 05:50 PM
Help with EMS remote display panel joembx Monaco Owner's Forum 11 03-01-2014 05:26 PM
No amp on remote display phranc RV Systems & Appliances 10 02-24-2014 08:46 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.