Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2015, 01:45 PM   #15
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Now I may have a new problem. I was about to bite the bullet and try out a cheaper model when I noticed it says it will not work on pre 2007 models. Can anyone tell me why?
__________________

__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2015, 03:31 PM   #16
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Holly Springs, MS
Posts: 97
I use an OBD2 sensor connected with Bluetooth to a dell tablet. The tablet is adhesive mounted to my dash on top and just to the left of center. I use the Torque app and have a customized screen with RPM, speed, trans temp and engine temp. I had the same issue as OP and this fixed it. I ran a cord to power the tablet so I don't have to take it out to charge. BTW I fly a 757 with a HUD and I wouldn't want one in my MH. The tablet setup works great.
__________________

__________________
memphisflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 03:59 PM   #17
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by memphisflyer View Post
I use an OBD2 sensor connected with Bluetooth to a dell tablet. The tablet is adhesive mounted to my dash on top and just to the left of center. I use the Torque app and have a customized screen with RPM, speed, trans temp and engine temp. I had the same issue as OP and this fixed it. I ran a cord to power the tablet so I don't have to take it out to charge. BTW I fly a 757 with a HUD and I wouldn't want one in my MH. The tablet setup works great.
Really? May I ask why you wouldn't want a hud in your motor home?
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 04:08 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 267
HUD should be standard equipment in large motor homes! Paddle shifting should be standard as well.

Managing a 6 speed transmission located by your hip, plus a 2 speed engine brake, in a 40,000 pound vehicle going down a twisty 6-7 deg slope with killer mountain drop offs on the roadside gets busier than it needs to be.

Presentation should be MPH, RPM, Gear selected, Gear engaged, Jake brake selection. Nothing else needed. All the parameters are already electronically available in the Allison/Cummins system.

When you drive the mountain highways this HUD system would make a huge difference to the driver. It would be of little value "straight and level" on the Interstate in Nebraska.
__________________
Larrikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 04:28 PM   #19
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larrikin View Post
HUD should be standard equipment in large motor homes! Paddle shifting should be standard as well.

Managing a 6 speed transmission located by your hip, plus a 2 speed engine brake, in a 40,000 pound vehicle going down a twisty 6-7 deg slope with killer mountain drop offs on the roadside gets busier than it needs to be.

Presentation should be MPH, RPM, Gear selected, Gear engaged, Jake brake selection. Nothing else needed. All the parameters are already electronically available in the Allison/Cummins system.

When you drive the mountain highways this HUD system would make a huge difference to the driver. It would be of little value "straight and level" on the Interstate in Nebraska.
Kinda what I was thinkin.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 04:45 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Dakrism's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cicero In
Posts: 202
I use a Silverleaf VMSPC connected to the data port and display right in front of me on a 7 in tablet mounted in a bracket at almost eye level.
The MPH,RPM,etc are just some of the info displayed and you can arrange your display with different colors to readily and easily see it immediately without hunting for it on the screen.You can keep an eye on traffic at the same time.
I agree these beasts require constant vigilance.

I did try the wireless version but lost the connection too many times and changed to a USB connection and it is performing great.
__________________
Dan & Kris Murphy

2009 Beaver Contessa
2015 Ford Edge SEL
Dakrism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 04:54 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
CampDaven's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fulltime, USA
Posts: 14,453
Blog Entries: 1
Heads up display?

I guess not being in a hurry works pretty well, especially on grades. I like to enjoy the ride and am not challenged by a glance at my instruments with the tilt and telescope of the wheel, and can shift by feel. It ain't like driving an F-4 by a long shot.
If the hud and shift paddles etc had been standard on my rig, I'm pretty sure I could not have afforded it. And I don't require an upgrade now.
But I wish you well, and Happy Trails
__________________
Dave and Nola, RVM1
The Journey is Our Destination!

http://davenola.blogspot.com/
CampDaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 06:19 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
[QUOTE=Rusty years;2829898]This is what you have to offer, misinformation. Per Wikipedia
A head-up display or heads-up display[1]—also known as a HUD—is any transparent display that presents data without requiring users to look away from their usual viewpoints.


Sorry, Wikipedia did not invent the HUD, nor did I. However, I spent 35 years in civil service working for the Navy on the A6, A7, F18, and A12 aircraft. We built software simulators for all of these, and we did develop Head Up Displays for all. There is only one pilot in each of these aircraft and therefore only one head looking at the HUD. ALL military nomenclature pertaining to these devices are called : Head Up Display.

So sorry, no misinformation on my part.

Quote:
Insane938 Yes lanerd, the official term is "head up display". However, throughout the internet and other forums, people have habitually referred to it as "heads up display". Hence my use of the word.
Again, it is a "common" misconception...so yes, many people use this term. That's exactly why I posted what I did. Just because people on other forums say "heads", doesn't make it correct, nor is Wikipedia the last word on the subject.

The commercial HUD was developed from the military version. The military version was and is still called Head Up Display.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 06:45 PM   #23
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,290
Here is a photo of my Silverleaf VMSpc program running on a 8" HP laptop. It allows me to track all of my gauges without looking down. It also has alarms if something drops below or above parameters.

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 07:34 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Here you go.
A8 5 5" Dash Screen Projector Car Hud Head Up Display OBD II OBD2 Auto Gauge US | eBay
__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 08:34 AM   #25
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
This is exactly what I have been looking at. However when you look up the specs, it says that it will only fit 2007 and up. When I inquired. they said it requires ODBII. My MH has an OBDII port. All vehicles sold in the US since 1996 have one. I am totally confused as to why they say this won't work.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 09:35 AM   #26
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Holly Springs, MS
Posts: 97
In response to your question as to why I wouldn't want a HUD in the MH, the HUD is intended to be a look through device - obviously. The challenge is that it is a difficult and learned skill to take in the HUD info and not lose focus and concentration on the outside world. In aviation, even for a fighter pilot (where the device was originally put in use) we are not about to run into anything in the near term so losing some of the outside focus is acceptable and workable. In my MH, I don't want anything to cause me to fixate in anything other than the road. I would rather make a quick glance at data and return my focus to the road ahead. I know this might sound trivial but I have studied human factors in aviation my whole flying career and assure you it's a real issue. Load up the HUD and it will cost some amount - perhaps a lot - of focus. Also, I'm getting a kick out of the conversations about the nomenclature. Yes, technically the acronym originally stood for "Head Up Display" but that really is an out of date term. The industry norm (even for some of the manufacturers) is "Heads Up Display". At my company the thought is that in the approach environment with low visibility, the idea is to be able to have 2 heads up instead of one pilot focusing down on only instruments. Hence the term Heads Up, not Head Up. I'm always amused by folks on this forum splitting hairs instead of concentrating on the original question
__________________
memphisflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 09:45 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane938 View Post
This is exactly what I have been looking at. However when you look up the specs, it says that it will only fit 2007 and up. When I inquired. they said it requires ODBII. My MH has an OBDII port. All vehicles sold in the US since 1996 have one. I am totally confused as to why they say this won't work.

It means on some cars that the obd2 wasn't installed until 2007. My 03 has a obd2 in fact I am thinking about getting one. But the key word is obd2. It will work.


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 11:01 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
Concerning the issue of focus. On my 93 Pointic SSEI, the HUD display on the windshield "seemed" to be located out close to the front of the car...not on the windshield itself. At that distance, my eyes would need very little refocus looking from the road to the display. It was weird, to say the least.

Ron
__________________

__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heads Up display mx08453 Class A Motorhome Discussions 37 04-29-2017 10:34 AM
Intellitec EMS Display Not Working Jonesbackr RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-30-2015 03:46 AM
Magnum inverter/charger remote display wiring AZCoder Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 04-20-2015 11:40 PM
Alternative display for Silverleaf VMSpc jondrew Class A Motorhome Discussions 22 04-20-2015 02:51 PM
Winnebago Industries to Display New 2015 Products at California RV Show - Pomona DriVer RV Industry Press 4 10-21-2014 04:05 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.