Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2015, 07:23 AM   #57
Senior Member
 
olustee bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Olustee, Fl
Posts: 383
I sure could have used a hud coming from cherkee to Gatlinburg yesterday. Had to take my eyes off the road way to much to look at my gps.
__________________

__________________
olustee bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2015, 11:01 AM   #58
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
My MH (see signature) seems to not have an OBD plug. All I can find is one labeled "engine diagnostics" and it is a round 6-pin plug. I did find an OBD style labled "transmission." Can this 6-pin plug be used with a bluetooth transmitter? Or, is their an adapter plug to convert my plug to an OBD style plug? Would like to get the OBDLinkLX and run it using Torque Pro.
Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving....
__________________

__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40 PDT
USMCDevilDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:14 AM   #59
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by USMCDevilDog View Post
My MH (see signature) seems to not have an OBD plug. All I can find is one labeled "engine diagnostics" and it is a round 6-pin plug. I did find an OBD style labled "transmission." Can this 6-pin plug be used with a bluetooth transmitter? Or, is their an adapter plug to convert my plug to an OBD style plug? Would like to get the OBDLinkLX and run it using Torque Pro.
Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving....

They make adapters for that and cheap around $6 up and free shipping. Just search obd2 adapters and you will see yours. What I have read on the older ones you loose a couple of items like o2 sensor fuel flow stuff like that. Plus they sell wifi plug ins cheap $10. Try that before getting a head up display. And on the op if you search you will find the same info and will tell you everything you need to know. Took me 20 min to find the info but to much to post.
__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 12:21 PM   #60
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Been searching for what non emissions can be pulled from OBD1 for weeks. Even before I was sure I had OBD1. I can't find anywhere that you cal pull real-time information such as vehicle speed and rpm from OBD1. Of course, that is available in OBD2. That is principally what I am interested in. If I was sure I could get that information out of my unit, I would not hesitate to buy a HUD. However, without that information, the HUD would be worthless. As you said Johndale, there is a plethora of information about what you can get from OBD2, even older ones, but not for OBD1. At least, not that I can find.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 05:12 PM   #61
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane938 View Post
Been searching for what non emissions can be pulled from OBD1 for weeks. Even before I was sure I had OBD1. I can't find anywhere that you cal pull real-time information such as vehicle speed and rpm from OBD1. Of course, that is available in OBD2. That is principally what I am interested in. If I was sure I could get that information out of my unit, I would not hesitate to buy a HUD. However, without that information, the HUD would be worthless. As you said Johndale, there is a plethora of information about what you can get from OBD2, even older ones, but not for OBD1. At least, not that I can find.
this is what i have found.
https://sites.google.com/site/stoyne...l/obd1_vs_obd2
I hope this helps.
__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 07:29 PM   #62
Senior Member
 
BigBadDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Since the big diesels were not required to have OBD until 2013 most did not. I thought some options for it existed but I never saw one. The big diesels used J1939 J1708 protocols which I think Scangauge D works with. Silverleaf also but for more $. If you could find a 2004 with OBD it would be OBDII. Or get yourself a new rig with OBDII.
__________________
BigBadDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 09:28 PM   #63
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Johndale. Gee thanks. I guess that since there is no data logging on OBD1 I am SOL. Oh well it was worth a try.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 11:21 AM   #64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadDad View Post
Since the big diesels were not required to have OBD until 2013 most did not. I thought some options for it existed but I never saw one. The big diesels used J1939 J1708 protocols which I think Scangauge D works with. Silverleaf also but for more $. If you could find a 2004 with OBD it would be OBDII. Or get yourself a new rig with OBDII.
I have a J1708 6-pin connector and I took a look at the Scangauge D. It has many nice features. Therefore, if I got an adapter for my 6-pin to the OBDII female, then any of the OBDII scanners should work the same as the Scangauge D. Correct??????
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40 PDT
USMCDevilDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 03:09 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
Oldrtrcr's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 303
My 2015 Cadillac ATS Coupe has a head up display. However, unlike the projection type of display that anybody can read off your windshield, this one uses the windshield as a mirror (or reflection) to look down a tube in the dash where the info is displayed. Nobody can see the info except the driver. Thought that was pretty imaginative thinking.
__________________
Bill Mahan
2012 Allegro Bus 43 QGP
Oldrtrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 01:51 AM   #66
Senior Member
 
BigBadDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
USMCDevilDog...The J1708 6 pin to OBDII adapters certainly are available. Specifically what that means in the case of any particular "thing" you would plug into would have to be answered by the maker of each "thing" You should chat with the Scanguage folks, they are pretty good at customer support and given the $ with this stuff they seem like a good bet. They might be able to tell you if there is a "general" rule about what to expect using adapters but they probably won't steer you to anyone else. You might also look at this http://www.amazon.com/BlueFire-Bluet.../dp/B00V1QBNFI Supposedly it will plug into J1708 and send bluetooth...it is big $ to me...but if it works with Torquepro on android tablet it would be pretty slick. Keep your head down, Semper Fi
__________________
BigBadDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 09:17 AM   #67
AGP
Senior Member
 
AGP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 236
I think the HUD's are a great addition to any vehicle,I have it in my Vette my wife has it in her Lexus love it not a distraction at all
__________________
Tony, Nancy & Abby the pooch 2011 40'Monaco Knight PDQ Maxxforce 10 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
AGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:08 PM   #68
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Ok guys. I just received my bluetooth OBDII scanner, and hooked it to my coach. Paired it with my phone using Torque. It definitely shows engine RPM, and says that Speed from OBD is available. There are a bunch of values that are not there, but the main two seem to be. Upon further research, it seems that some older coaches, (supposedly the ones with OBDII connectors), may have ODBII computers, with ODBI programming, which makes them (what is the PC wording?) programically challenged? However, looks like the information I really need may be available. Time to spend some money and get my A__ chewed by the DW. I'll keep you informed as to what I find out.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 05:29 PM   #69
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane938 View Post
Ok guys. I just received my bluetooth OBDII scanner, and hooked it to my coach. Paired it with my phone using Torque. It definitely shows engine RPM, and says that Speed from OBD is available. There are a bunch of values that are not there, but the main two seem to be. Upon further research, it seems that some older coaches, (supposedly the ones with OBDII connectors), may have ODBII computers, with ODBI programming, which makes them (what is the PC wording?) programically challenged? However, looks like the information I really need may be available. Time to spend some money and get my A__ chewed by the DW. I'll keep you informed as to what I find out.

Hold on your money. I just bought a hud and all it will read is battery. I put it in my car and works great. So now I have a special on a hud unit. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1449012490.126661.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	113145
But the wifi I have works great on the RV so I will use the gps for now.
__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 08:02 AM   #70
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Crap! Too late. Already ordered. Since your coach is newer than mine, I'm sure it won't work on mine either. Already ordered, so will have to see it I can stop it.
__________________

__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heads Up display mx08453 Class A Motorhome Discussions 37 04-29-2017 10:34 AM
Intellitec EMS Display Not Working Jonesbackr RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-30-2015 03:46 AM
Magnum inverter/charger remote display wiring AZCoder Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 04-20-2015 11:40 PM
Alternative display for Silverleaf VMSpc jondrew Class A Motorhome Discussions 22 04-20-2015 02:51 PM
Winnebago Industries to Display New 2015 Products at California RV Show - Pomona DriVer RV Industry Press 4 10-21-2014 04:05 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.