Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2015, 09:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Heads up display?

I have searched these forums every way I can think of, and I can find no discussions anywhere about aftermarket head up displays in a motorhome, If I have missed it, please point me in the right direction,
When driving my motorhome, neither the speedometer nor the tach are visible through the steering wheel. in any position without a lot of eye-time away from the road, and twisting and turning in the driver's seat. I figure that I cannot be the only one having this problem. I have looked at the Garmin information, but I don't think it will solve my problem. Number one because I don't want my phone turned on the whole time, and, secondly, GPS speeds are notoriously wrong in certain areas.
I am leaning toward one of the OBDII add on units, but can find no information on whether they have been used on a class A with its huge windshield and sloped dash.
Hoping someone out there has done this, or tried it, and will let me know their opinion.
Thanks in advance.
Charley
__________________

__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2015, 09:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
69Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Posts: 696
I use the Torque App on an old Galaxy 3 with an OBD II adapter and it works great. Only thing I haven't figured out to display properly is transmission temp. Not a heads up display, but I'm happy with it.
__________________

__________________
1998 Southwind Storm 34S
2015 Ford Focus Hatchback SE
Retired Air Force 1981-2006
69Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 09:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fiesta48's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,597
The ScanGuage II I had in my '11 Bounder was mounted on top of the gauges in easy eyesight. It has 30+ internal gauges, you can program to your liking. $150. It is now in my car.
__________________
Full Timers.
2015 Fleetwood Discovery 40E on a Freightliner XCS chassis with a Cummins ISL9 pulling 1 and/or 2 motorcycles, '07 Honda Accord OR a 17' Runabout Boat.
Fiesta48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 355
In my opinion heads-up-display put in cars is another tech gimmick which has little value and increases distraction to already overloaded drivers. HUD was developed for use in aircraft, particularly military, to give the pilot flight and weapon systems parameters in ready view during flight. Many hours of training are dedicated to the use of these systems. Auto manufacturers throw some tech gimmick in and wash their hands of the often tragic results.

If a speedometer or other critical gauge is not visible while driving then a buyer should NOT buy that vehicle. GPS accurately displays vehicle speed. The installed speedometers are usually off by a few MPH.
__________________
2007 Itasca Horizon 40FD, 2015 Harley Davidson FLHTKL, 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
drwwicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:19 AM   #5
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
drwicks,
Thanks for the comment, but there are confirmed spots all over the US and Canada where GPS signals are blocked or grayed, therefore making a GPS speedometer worthless. Head up displays do not have to be placed where they interfere with driving. Just for information, I was a RIO in the Airforce. We used HUDs from day 1. I. nor my pilot had any learning curve getting used to them. AF HUDs float way out in space. You can see right through them. You can tune them in or out as needed.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:20 AM   #6
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69Stang View Post
I use the Torque App on an old Galaxy 3 with an OBD II adapter and it works great. Only thing I haven't figured out to display properly is transmission temp. Not a heads up display, but I'm happy with it.
Thanks, but ther again you are relying on a phone, and I really don't want to do that.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiesta48 View Post
The ScanGuage II I had in my '11 Bounder was mounted on top of the gauges in easy eyesight. It has 30+ internal gauges, you can program to your liking. $150. It is now in my car.
Probably great for you, but as I get older, my eyes don't change focus as quickly, which is why I thought about a HUD. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 10:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Near San Antonio, TX
Posts: 430
The HUD in my 2011 camaro was great. I miss it. Not a distraction at all.
__________________
montyhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 11:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
89sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 883
We had hud in a Nissan Maxima and loved it. Wish it was in all cars. MUCH SAFER than looking down at the speedometer, your eyes never leave the road!
__________________
89sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 11:43 AM   #10
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Thanks montyhp and 89sandman for the replies. I am sure I would like a hud, I'm just worried if they could be seen clearly in a MH due to the distance to the windshield, and the depth of the dashboard. Was just hoping to connect with someone that had done it so I wouldn't have to fork out the $ if it didn't work. DW would be on my assets for quite some time for "wasting money". I'm sure you know what I mean.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 12:12 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
I too would love to have a HUD in my mh. I once had a '93 Pontiac SSEI that was equipped with one and it was a perfect alternative to dashboard instruments.

Also, FWIW, there is a common misconception on the name of this device. The title and the reply by "drwwicks" both stipulate that it is a "heads" up display. Heads (plural) indicates you have more than one head. The correct word usage of this is: "Head" up Display...meaning "one" head.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 12:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rusty years's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanerd View Post
I too would love to have a HUD in my mh. I once had a '93 Pontiac SSEI that was equipped with one and it was a perfect alternative to dashboard instruments.

Also, FWIW, there is a common misconception on the name of this device. The title and the reply by "drwwicks" both stipulate that it is a "heads" up display. Heads (plural) indicates you have more than one head. The correct word usage of this is: "Head" up Display...meaning "one" head.

Ron
This is what you have to offer, misinformation. Per Wikipedia
A head-up display or heads-up display[1]—also known as a HUD—is any transparent display that presents data without requiring users to look away from their usual viewpoints.

I have HUD on my Vette and it's great. I don't see it working very well on a MH as the windshield is too far away. You need to drive with the traffic and not worry so much about your speed, use cruise control. I can tell if I'm driving too fast without a speedo.
__________________
Follow us at: http://joelandesta.blogspot.com/
2006 HR Endeavor 40'...2002 Corvette
2011 Forest River 20' Cargo Trailer
Rusty years is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 12:56 PM   #13
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Rusty Years
I can understand your statement when there is traffic. When there is no traffic for long stretches. and especially at night, my foot gets heavier. If you have ever driven a v10 in hilly country, you know cruise control is out of the question. It would be nice to just glance at a hud and know everything is ok. But, I too am afraid it might be too far for a Hud to project. I can't seem to find any information on the distance to the windshield and size of the projection.
__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 12:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 51
Yes lanerd, the official term is "head up display". However, throughout the internet and other forums, people, including the aforementioned Wikipedia, have habitually referred to it as "heads up display". Hence my use of the word.
__________________

__________________
99 Winnebago Chieftain 34Y
07 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS E450 Chassis 6.8L V10 5 Star Tune
Insane938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heads Up display mx08453 Class A Motorhome Discussions 37 04-29-2017 10:34 AM
Intellitec EMS Display Not Working Jonesbackr RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-30-2015 03:46 AM
Magnum inverter/charger remote display wiring AZCoder Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 04-20-2015 11:40 PM
Alternative display for Silverleaf VMSpc jondrew Class A Motorhome Discussions 22 04-20-2015 02:51 PM
Winnebago Industries to Display New 2015 Products at California RV Show - Pomona DriVer RV Industry Press 4 10-21-2014 04:05 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.