Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2015, 09:04 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 157
Heavy Extension cord

Another question from the newby, where I park MH I have the access to a standard RV shore power hook up as in camp ground. This my question . Could I run a heavy Duty electric cord from the standard plug on the shore power to inside coach to run a electric heater for those nights it may possible freeze. I might add that I live in the eastern Georgia, does not freeze very often . (25 low for one or to nights in a row) The reason in my mind for doing this is that way I do not have to hook up my 30 amp. and do not have to run house batteries. Wish coach had come with a way to do that . Hope I explained my question enought to get an answer. If that is possible what would be the best way to do that. THANKS
__________________

__________________
WV Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-05-2015, 09:08 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Motor7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 564
Yes you could, but why? Are you trying to save on the electric bill? Hooked into shore power will keep your house batteries charged in addition to powering all your 120v outlets for use.
__________________

__________________
2004 Fleetwood Bounder 32W "Sheila"
Workhorse 8.1, Ally 1000
Motor7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 09:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Short answer: YES
Longer answer: I do it at many (30 amp) Campsites without problems.

NOTE: the cord I use is a 12ga Cord from K-Mart or Sears, it has a push button on the outlet and actually GRIPS the device plug.. Very nice

You must push the button to plug in or unplug.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 09:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,712
As wa8yxm noted, use an extension cord of sufficient size to carry total amperage, remembering you are hooked to a 30A receptacle, but using a 15A cord.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 09:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 370
I went one step farther and ran a short appliance cord from the electric bay to a surface mount outlet installed in the bedroom right above. I connect it to the 20 amp shore power outlet with a 25' heavy duty extension cord when using our 1500 watt oil filled heater. We do not use any other items on that circuit. Works great.
__________________
2003 Itasca Sunrise 32v F53
Okiedoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 03:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 157
Okiedoke. What did you mean by surface mount outlet. I was looking at a place I could get into coach with extension cord. I was thinking about coming in coach at entry steeps , maybe drilling hole and then putting a cover door over it. ( that is we're batteries are and open to under coach.) The reason in my mind, for finding a way to do this is I don't want to over charge my coach batteries at storage. When at a camp site I can plug in to the non 30 amp socket and not overload coach system. Does that make good sense.
__________________
WV Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 03:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brockx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Punta Gorda FL.
Posts: 2,631
You have not mentioned the model / year of your unit. If it is anything newer than 1990 it most likely will charge and not overcharge your battery. I would simply buy the proper adapter (Wal Mart) to plug your RV cord into the extension cord and forget about it.
__________________
2008 Bounder 38P F53 24/30K V10, 2013 Kia Soul Basic 6 speed manual, Ready Brake Elite tow system (previous equipment 1996 Pace Arrow Vision w/Acme Dolly)
Brockx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 04:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 141
Two years ago, I installed a surge/voltage protection device. this device gives a display of the voltage and current flow in each "leg" of the input. The bonus is that now I can see the load on the shore power......thus I can know for certainty whether I can use an electric heater or the like.
__________________
bobguigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 04:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,940
Think several of us are questioning why you want to by-pass the 30 amp plug. Bottom line, use the 30 amp plug in your coach for routine/std uses like lights, cooking and heat. Then if you want, use a second heavy duty cord [at least 12 gauge] to supplement things like a ceramic / or other type of space heater. Dont get your interest in by-passing the 30 amps plug?
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 04:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Motor7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
Think several of us are questioning why you want to by-pass the 30 amp plug.
^Correct....WV Bum, can you explain?
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Bounder 32W "Sheila"
Workhorse 8.1, Ally 1000
Motor7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 04:51 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,517
Is the reason to keep pipes from freezing? If so I don't think one space heater is not going to keep the pipes from freezing there is to many different places pipes can freeze that the heat want get to. I'd winterize and forget it we will be in the teens this week.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 05:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 157
Sorry must have been a stupid question !
__________________
WV Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 05:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Motor7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 564
Wv, like you I am just asking a question. If I knew the thought process behind your question I think I could give you a better answer.
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Bounder 32W "Sheila"
Workhorse 8.1, Ally 1000
Motor7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 05:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,933
Not a stupid question. At my house, I hook mine up to a 30 amp source to run a heater when it gets cold along with a 100w light bulb in the bay where the water pump is. Plan to do just that over the next 3-4 days based on forecast.


When at a campsite, in addition to the 30 amp I will plug a extension cord into the 20 amp circuit to run an outside fan in the summer, and a heater in the winter for outside use.
__________________

__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extension cord WDW Class C Motorhome Discussions 14 01-27-2015 07:10 AM
Extension cord from Outside to Inside, option... MisterT Palazzo Motorhomes 5 01-12-2015 08:46 AM
50 amp extension cord MutinyGuy MH-General Discussions & Problems 29 12-04-2014 11:22 AM
50 amp extension cord....need it? smlranger Class A Motorhome Discussions 40 07-13-2014 02:40 PM
Truck Electrical Cord vblarry Excel Owner's Forum 11 05-26-2014 10:49 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.