Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2014, 01:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Help !!

1999 HOLIDAY RAMBLER - ENDEAVOR Ford F 53 chassis with Gas V10 .

Trying to recharge my dash AC but low pressure switch has activated and won't allow me to add 134A. Need to "jump" compressor clutch relay to add the refrigerant but I can't locate the right reply that controls the clutch?

I do have the basic Ford owner's booklet , but no wiring diagram to tell me which relay to jump! The main relay containment box is located under hood on firewall. Also another box below that that contains 3 more relays which I don't have a clue what they are for???

PLEASE HELP!! I have attached pictures!

Thanks,
Sleepless in Virginia!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1108141541_resized.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	330.8 KB
ID:	78631   Click image for larger version

Name:	1108141545a.jpg
Views:	661
Size:	556.5 KB
ID:	78632  

__________________

__________________
3ramblers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-10-2014, 01:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
IdahoSRT10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 715
Have you looked inside the lid of the fuse box cover? (I'm sure you did but...) Have you first tried adding Freon to the low side with the engine off?
__________________

__________________
2016 Thor Tuscany 34ST XTE, Freightliner XCR, ISB 360hp/800tq. Allison 3000, Koni FSD shocks, Roadmaster 1.75" front sway bar, Safe-T-Plus, DYI air bag flow control valves.
2015 Jeep Willy's Wheeler Wrangler Unlimited Toad, Ready-Brute-Elite tow system.
IdahoSRT10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 01:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
Need to jumper the low pressure switch
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 02:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pds47's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 260
Blog Entries: 1
If you just wait for the pressure to settle it should come up to high enough to let the compressor to engage
__________________
Paul & Megan 2007 Neptune XL 36 PDQ REK Bilsteins, KarKaddy,mini cooper, W/ Bear and Sedona
Pds47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 04:47 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks guys, There are no makings or lables on the inside fuse box covers except for denoting the relay position which are pretty obvious. If I could determine which relay controlled the AC compressor clutch I could jump terms 87a & 30 and get it to kick in so I could add the 134.

I just don't want to jump the wrong relay and create more problems in another circuit for something else.

If I cant locate the compressor relay how would I jumper the low pressure switch? Ive tried jumping the two wires going to it with a paper clip, no luck. Do I need to add 12v with a direct line from the battery?

I am really flying in the dark here with no markings or schematics for these stupid relays!
__________________
3ramblers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 05:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HicksRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 845
Maybe just hit the clutch terminal on the compressor with 12v. Just run a hot wire to the switch with the engine off. You'll hear the clutch engage. Start the engine and fill er up.
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 06:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,517
Back in the old days you could just unplug the wire off the refrigerate line and put a jumper wire in.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 06:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
why 134 go with 12A
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 06:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
ill look on mine for the low pressure switch tomorrow
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 07:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
homecan1's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 195
Run 12volts directly from the battery to the compressor clutch and it will run. No problem.
__________________
Palm Springs, CA - 2005 National Tropi Cal 370LX on a Freightliner, Cat 350 power. Towing a Rinker R1 - Lake Havasu Bound!!
homecan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 07:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
STOP !

DO NOT USE JUMPER!

The low pressure switch prevents compressor from operating with low gas.

When you add gas and the pressure rises the compressor will cycle as the compressor will draw the gas to reduce it below the cutout.

You do NOT need the compressor to add gas, it will go in just fine.

You can warm the can if you wish to get more pressure out.

Are you using proper manifold or hose to add?
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 07:34 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Just adding freon will energize low pressure switch. If the ac clutch does not energize after a small amount of refrigerant is added then you have other problems. A defective low pressure switch, clutch magnet or relay could cause this. A large leak could cause this. As a retired ac tech those cans with a hose are the worst things for ac sence people started selling propane as refrigerant. With an r134 system you need the correct charge to the oz. for the system to work properly. This can only be done with a charging station or a good scale and large bottle of refrigerant. If a leak has occurred some oil leaked out with the freon. If not replaced with a charge the compressor will destroy itself due to lack of lub. I recommend taking your mh to a good ac shop for leak check and diagnostics.
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:46 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by stink View Post
Just adding freon will energize low pressure switch. If the ac clutch does not energize after a small amount of refrigerant is added then you have other problems. A defective low pressure switch, clutch magnet or relay could cause this. A large leak could cause this. As a retired ac tech those cans with a hose are the worst things for ac sence people started selling propane as refrigerant. With an r134 system you need the correct charge to the oz. for the system to work properly. This can only be done with a charging station or a good scale and large bottle of refrigerant. If a leak has occurred some oil leaked out with the freon. If not replaced with a charge the compressor will destroy itself due to lack of lub. I recommend taking your mh to a good ac shop for leak check and diagnostics.
X2
__________________

__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.