Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2012, 01:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
HELP: Auto LP Valve not opening - no idea what to do

We're about 1500 miles from home and suddenly the fridge starts beeping while we're driving. The code indicates that the LP won't light. So we stop and I take a look at it, and figure out no gas is making it to the fridge. So I check the stove and no gas is making it to the stove either. We have an electric LP shutoff valve so I figure that's it. I crawl by the tank, and there is no power to the shut off valve. So I open up the back of the switch, and check and there is 12V power there. I checked all the fuses I could find, and none are tripped.

It's in a 2005 Itasca Horizon 40ad.

Anybody have any ideas?

Darryl
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
2005 Itasca Horizon 40AD
dvleemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-12-2012, 01:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CHCam42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 300
If you use a short piece of wire can you jump the switch? Is there LP in the tank?
__________________

__________________
Clark and Jo
2009 Camelot
2010 Jeep Wrangler Toad
CHCam42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHCam42 View Post
If you use a short piece of wire can you jump the switch? Is there LP in the tank?
There's LP in the tank.

Since there's no voltage going need the shut off value, I don't think jumping it will do anything right?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
2005 Itasca Horizon 40AD
dvleemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
OK,
I manually connected +-12V to the shut off valve and it opened it immediately. So the issue is NOT with the shut off valve - it has to do with the wiring.

So if there's 12V power at the switch, where could the issue be?

Darryl
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
2005 Itasca Horizon 40AD
dvleemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The valve is a safety, not all rigs come so equipped. If you are absolutely sure there is no leak anywhere, jump 12V to the valve to open it, and complete your trip. Make sure to check on leaks periodically.

The missing link is somewhere in between, and you can follow up on that as time permits.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
OK,
For about a minute suddenly there was power to the shut off valve, and then gas started flowing. Then it stopped. What could possibly cause that?

This is bizarre.

Darryl
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
2005 Itasca Horizon 40AD
dvleemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
R2Home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Palmer Ak
Posts: 1,124
How about a 'fuse' issue? Had an issue in the past and found that I had a 5amp fuse blown.
__________________
2009 38' Diplomat
CSM- retired, wife as co-pilot
Reka & Ali providing security (our 2 labs)
R2Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:01 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
ronspread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Check to see if the propane alarm located at floor level on the sidewall needs to be reset.
__________________
ronspread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
OK - it was the second emergency shut off switch (didn't know there was one). Had corroded wires.

Thanks Everyone!
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
2005 Itasca Horizon 40AD
dvleemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.