Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2015, 01:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Help!! Trans will not engage

We have a 2000 Monaco Diplomat that will not go into gear. We have checked fluids and the control panel is not showing in codes. All we get is Check Trans Light flashing and beeping. Started it this a.m. moved to power wash it got back in to move it forward and the light and berping comes on. Will not engage have disconnected battery for reset still nothing. Please help
__________________

__________________
christi is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-01-2015, 01:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Arizona - It's a dry heat....
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by christi View Post
We have a 2000 Monaco Diplomat that will not go into gear. We have checked fluids and the control panel is not showing in codes. All we get is Check Trans Light flashing and beeping. Started it this a.m. moved to power wash it got back in to move it forward and the light and berping comes on. Will not engage have disconnected battery for reset still nothing. Please help
Is it gas or diesel? Did it happen after washing?

BTW, if you add your coach year, make and model to your signature it will help others to answer your questions.
__________________

__________________
WeBRVing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 01:51 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Sorry new to this. It is Diesel.

Christi
Monaco Diplomat 2000
__________________
christi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 02:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
What areas of the motorhome did you pressure wash? There is a chance you got moisture in a wiring harness.

My transmission electronic control module is located in the front drivers side run bay, yours may be in a different location, it is a relatively small box that has a connector on it. You may try and unplug this. Here is a link to a manual, it has instructions to find codes. http://www.utxchange.com/pdfs/SA3360EN.pdf

Try starting from scratch. Start the coach like you normally do, let the air build up, depress the brake, release the parking brake, and then put in gear.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 02:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Arizona - It's a dry heat....
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by christi View Post
Sorry new to this. It is Diesel.

Christi
Monaco Diplomat 2000
No apology needed, I wasn't chastising you. The more info you can provide to the members the better able they will be to assist you.

I agree with the water in a harness idea. The same thing happened to our class C after it was power washed-the water heater quit working.
We waited a day and after things dried out the water heater worked fine.
Maybe you will have similar results after a day or so.
As mentioned earlier, I'd look for boxes with connectors and make sure the connections are dry.
I don't do power washing anymore.
Wish I could be more help, but I have a gasser.
I'm sure some diesel folks will be along shortly to assist you.
Good luck.
__________________
WeBRVing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 02:34 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Still will not show codes.
__________________
christi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 02:41 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
How can you tell if the shifter panel is bad? I am getting no codes have gone step by step with manual on how to pull them with no results.

Christi
Monaco Diplomat 2000
__________________
christi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 03:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Arizona - It's a dry heat....
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by christi View Post
How can you tell if the shifter panel is bad? I am getting no codes have gone step by step with manual on how to pull them with no results.

Christi
Monaco Diplomat 2000
Did this happen AFTER the power wash was done? Inquiring minds need to know in order to better help with the problem.

If so, it's more than likely not going to be the shifter panel, as that is inside the coach.
There is a good chance if it's a wet connection or a loose connection, that no codes will show up. It's happened to me.
Do you have to move the RV right away, or can you just stay put for a few days to see what happens after things dry out?
Are you in a dry part of the country or where it's humid?

Did you try Jim's suggestion of going through the start up routine again?
__________________
WeBRVing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 08:36 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 91
I think you may find this has something to do with your cruise control unit telling the transmission the rpms are too high to let the trans engage.
__________________
jerryhawkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 08:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Arizona - It's a dry heat....
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryhawkins View Post
I think you may find this has something to do with your cruise control unit telling the transmission the rpms are too high to let the trans engage.
Can you elaborate? I don't have a DP but I've never heard of this in 20+ years of servicing vehicles professionally.
Additional description of this would also help the OP with diagnosis.
__________________
WeBRVing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by christi View Post
We have a 2000 Monaco Diplomat that will not go into gear. We have checked fluids and the control panel is not showing in codes. All we get is Check Trans Light flashing and beeping. Started it this a.m. moved to power wash it got back in to move it forward and the light and berping comes on. Will not engage have disconnected battery for reset still nothing. Please help

Two things.
1. The easy one. Make sure your idle rpm is under 800.
2. Find the electrical connector on the transmission. Open the connector and blow it out with air in a can and fill it will di electric grease.

It's impossible to ignore that this occurred after pressure washing.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 10:53 PM   #12
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,278
Christi.....This may not be your issue, but is a possibility.....I'm not sure if your year model has a Smart Wheel. A Smart Wheel is a steering wheel with cruise control on one side and wipers on the other side, and the ability to flash your headlights or tailights. If you have this wheel, you can raise or lower the engine idle 25 rpm at a time. It can be done accidentally if you're not aware of this feature. If by chance you've increased the idle accidentally, it won't shift into gear. Your engine should be idling around 700 rpm. If it's over 800, it may be preventing you from shifting.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 09:25 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Not sure if this posted so sorry if it is twice. Thanks for all the info. Thought we had it fixed but did it again. Drove it and the check trans light and beeping started. It has something to do with the tranny heating up. We are having a mechanic hook it up to a computer. Thanks again

Christi
Monaco Diplomat 2000
__________________

__________________
christi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bedroom Slide Locks Don't Engage Wryly Blithe Newmar Owner's Forum 5 06-11-2015 10:52 PM
Checking Trans Fluid from the dash Wrinklemeist Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 7 05-29-2015 10:26 AM
Allison Trans leak wpbcobra Allison Transmission Forum 1 03-05-2014 04:23 PM
Normal Trans Temp nssracer Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 07-24-2013 02:28 AM
Trans ECU alarm brookra1 Allison Transmission Forum 6 01-09-2013 02:09 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.