Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2013, 05:11 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
maxwell18's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pace FL 32571
Posts: 285
Help- what should the rpm's be 2000 DP

I have a 2000 H/R Ambassador 34 feet 5.9 Cummins 260hp, Allision 1000 4 with OD. New to me. I don't feel I am getting enough RPMs as it is shifting at 1600 RPMs through all the gears. It feels under power or not preforming like it should. I called Cummins, said called Allison, said call H/R, still waiting for call back from H/ R .Does anybody else have a unit that is shifting around that point. I have read that shift point are set for max toruqe and HP. I Just wondering am I expecting more from a 260HP? I have had several DP in the past and know how they perform and feel this is not right. It has 70K.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Bruce and Carolyn, Sissy the Boss
2005 Monaco Diplomat M-40PAQ
400ISL Cummins
maxwell18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-12-2013, 05:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
joeplazek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CAISTOR CENTRE
Posts: 535
That's a small engine for that size unit. Check the specs on the engine and see where it makes max torque. I have a 1996 Monaco Signature Series with a Cummins 450 e plus and a Allison Trans and I figure mine is lazy when up shifting also. BUT the unit weighs 35,000lbs down the road and I just assume this is what I am going to get. My max torque is around 1600rpm. I did have on diesel mechanic tell me that he didn't think the shift pattern was right for the unit. BUT he didn't know how to go about fixing it,, told me to call Allison,,,


joe
__________________

__________________
joeplazek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
maxwell18's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pace FL 32571
Posts: 285
follow up

To the first posting with the 2006. What RPM is your engine shifting?
__________________
Bruce and Carolyn, Sissy the Boss
2005 Monaco Diplomat M-40PAQ
400ISL Cummins
maxwell18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Bruce, I don't believe your Allison is a 1000 series, I haven't heard of the 1000s in a DP configuration . Get the trans serial number and run it through the " My Allison " section of the Allison home page.
Allison Transmission
That being said 1600 rpm, is about 6>700 low for a shift point, on the ISB.
Will the engine pull over that in high gear?
Have you checked the fuel filters ? Lift pump pressure ? Air filter?
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 09:37 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
I haven't heard of the 1000s in a DP configuration .
G'morning Skip;
The Allison 1000 5 spd was used in Motorhomes on the early Freightliner XCS chassis. Paired with the Cummins ISB 260. That engine was limited to 550 ft/lbs torque by the transmission. There were 2 versions of the ISB 260.
.......... .HP. TORQUE.. .. MAX RPM
ISB 260 260 660@1600... 2500
ISB 260 260 550@1900 ... 2600

The 660ft/lb version developed it's max Hp much lower and it's shift pattern was different. It used a different?? transmission.
My Mh has the (550) 1000 tranny, which also limits it's GVWR to 22,000 lbs. My transmission tries to keep the engine between 1800 and 2600 rpm. It seems to give good performance and about 11mpg..
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel
Our Pug "Lily" & "George" the Newfoundland
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Thanks, Hooligan, I've learned something today.
I couldn't find a reference to the 1000 series on the Allison web site; RV application section; so I wrongly assumed the 2000series was the smallest available in DP configuration.
Guess the pages I was looking at , don't cover older applications.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 03:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,206
This is the older manual for that series. (year2000) My 1000 series does not have an operational park pawl. http://www.allisontransmission.com/d...t/OM3063EN.pdf

Back to OP,- Bruce- hope you got my PM's... both Cummins and Allison service locations are in Mobile, AL.. The shops in Pensacola may be able to help.

With moderate to heavy throttle applied, my engine accelerates to 25-2600 rpm and shifts to the next higher gear, rpm drops to 18-1900 and then builds until the next shift. What pattern does your engine follow on acceleration? Have you be able to check mileage, may indicate if things are working correctly....
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel
Our Pug "Lily" & "George" the Newfoundland
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
maxwell18's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pace FL 32571
Posts: 285
info

Thanks for your info and help. I checked my serial number and it is a 1000. I have not changed the transmission filter or fluid. All other filters have been changed. Do you think shift points are set for max hp/torque? I read somewhere that a 5.9 model, 2000 develops it max hp/torque at 1600-1700, so maybe it is set correct. I have called Cummins, Allison, and Holiday Rambler no help at all each one said the other one. I did call Wards in Pensacola said call the other three. Nobody has customer service in mind.
__________________
Bruce and Carolyn, Sissy the Boss
2005 Monaco Diplomat M-40PAQ
400ISL Cummins
maxwell18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Petes Dad's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 200
The Allison 1000 series is a learning transmission. It will learn your driving habits and change the way it shifts. You can make it relearn if you have a way to communicate with it. Edge products has a unit that you may check into that will communicate with your ISB and transmission, and will request a relearn. The benefit is also a code reader/clearer and engine monitor. It will also show you some transmission info like gear position, temp and torque converter lock up. The Silverleaf VMS Pc is great system but won't request a relearn.
__________________
2005 American Tradition 40L
69' Camaro in tow
Petes Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 03:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
maxwell18's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pace FL 32571
Posts: 285
followup

I found the problem, I used my new diesel scan gauge and found my tach is way off. The engine by my tach would not go above 1600-1700, and using the scan gauge it will go up to 2650-2700 rpms. it reads low and as the rpms are increased it get's worse. Now to figure out how to fix the old tach, any ideas?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Bruce and Carolyn, Sissy the Boss
2005 Monaco Diplomat M-40PAQ
400ISL Cummins
maxwell18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.